|
|
Library Databases for Communication
Disorders
The Library subscribes to over
160 databases containing citations, abstracts and full-text
of evaluated resources (books, articles, government documents, conference
proceedings ...)
Search here before spending hours on the web--where
you will not have access to most of the information provided in
databases.
Where to start?
Here are some databases that all students of Communication
Disorders should use. Keep them in mind. We will only use one of
them (Expanded Academic ASAP) in our actual search on the
next screen.
- Academic
Search Premier contains citations, abstracts and full text
articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating
to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological
sciences.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP indexes hundreds of scholarly journals. The
full-text is available for some articles while only the citation
and abstract is available for other articles.
- Genetics
Abstracts contains citations to articles on genetics research,
updated monthly.
- Health
Reference Center Academic contains citations, some full text
journal articles and health-related pamphlets, and entries from
selected reference publications relating to health and allied
health.
- PubMed
a free site for access to the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive
database of citations to medical journal articles.
- Web
of Science Web of Science consists of three indexes to scholarly
journals which can be searched by topic, author, source, address
or by cited reference. The indexes include Science Citation Index,
covering agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy,oncology, biochemistry,
pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology,physics, chemistry,
plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science,
surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.
Other Databases that are important to this field:
- ERIC
is a comprehensive database for education. It covers many issues
related to psychology. Try also Education
Complete (not as comprehensive, but contains many full text
articles).
- JSTOR
is a full-text online collection of over 150 core scholarly journals
from their first issue to between two and five years prior to
the present.
- PsycINFO
is the comprehensive database for psychology. It covers thousands
of journals and it can be searched in a variety of ways. Although
some articles are in full-text, most results provide only the
citation and the abstract.
- PsycArticles
contains the full-text of articles in the 28 journals of the American
Psychological Association published since 1998, plus full-text
articles from a few other journals.
- Sociological
Abstracts indexes over 1,000 sociology journals and displays
citations and abstracts. No full-text.
- Statistical
Universe is a database of statistical information of all kinds
gathered by governmental agencies and private organizations provided
in a tabular form.
|