|
|
Library Databases for Sociology
The Library subscribes to over
160 databases containing citations, abstracts and full-text
of evaluated resources (books, articles, government documents, conference
proceedings ...)
Search here before spending hours on the web--where
you will not have access to most of the information provided in
databases.
Where to start?
Here are some databases that all students of Sociology
should use. Keep them in mind. We will only use one of them (Sociological
Abstracts) in our actual search on the next screen.
- PsycINFO
is the comprehensive database for psychology. It covers thousands
of journals and it can be searched in a variety of ways. Although
some articles are in full-text, most results provide only the
citation and the abstract.
- PsycArticles
contains the full-text of articles in the 28 journals of the American
Psychological Association published since 1998, plus full-text
articles from a few other journals.
- Sociological
Abstracts indexes over 1,000 sociology journals and displays
citations and abstracts. No full-text.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP indexes hundreds of scholarly journals. The
full-text is available for some articles while only the citation
and abstract is available for other articles.
- JSTOR
is a full-text online collection of over 150 core scholarly journals
from their first issue to between two and five years prior to
the present.
- Statistical
Universe is a database of statistical information of all kinds
gathered by governmental agencies and private organizations provided
in a tabular form.
-
PAIS
is the Public Affairs Information Service. It covers material
in the social sciences. It includes citations to journal articles,
books, government documents, Internet sites, statistical compilations,
directories and reports of public and private organizations,
1972 to present. No full-text.
|