UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
August 29th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > pathfinders
SUBJECT DIRECTORIES

SUBJECT DIRECTORIES

Arts and Humanities

NATIONAL GUIDE TO FUNDING IN ARTS AND CULTURE. 4th ed., 1996. (5th ed., 1998 on order) (Ref. NX 396.6 N385).

Identifies foundations, corporate giving programs and public charities that have shown a substantial interest in supporting the visual and performing arts, arts education, museums, film and video, public television and radio, etc.

NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF GRANTS AND AID TO INDIVIDUALS IN THE ARTS, INTERNATIONAL. 8th ed., 1993. (9th edition on order). (Ref. LB 2338 G68).

Lists grants, prizes, and awards for professional work in the U.S. and abroad, and provides information about schools that offer special aid to students.

MUSICAL AMERICA: INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF THE PEFORMING ARTS. 1998. (Music Ref. ML 12 M88).

Listings of contests, foundation grants and awards appear in each annual edition.

DIRECTORY OF GRANTS IN THE HUMANITIES. 1997/98 (Ref. AZ 507 D57).

A guide to over 3,500 current funding programs that support research and performance in the humanities.

GRANTS AND AWARDS AVAILABLE TO AMERICAN WRITERS. 19th ed., 1996/97.

(Ref. LB 2336 P4). Biennial.

Lists primarily grants and awards worth $500 or more. Indexed by name of organization, by name of award, and by category of writing (fiction, drama, etc.).

GRANTS, FELLOWSHIPS AND PRIZES OF INTEREST TO HISTORIANS, 1996-1997.

(1997/98 due 2/98). (Ref. D 16.25 A5 latest annual ed.).

Describes funding programs for graduate level, postdoctoral and independent research, and support for research teams and others working in the field of historical education or study. Also lists prizes given for publications already completed.

 

Libraries, Education

NATIONAL GUIDE TO FUNDING FOR LIBRARIES AND INFORMATION SERVICES. 3rd ed., 1995. (4th edition on order) (Ref. Z 683.2 U6N38).

Identifies foundation and corporate support for organizations concerned with libraries and information services. Recent grants are briefly described.

NATIONAL GUIDE TO FUNDING IN HIGHER EDUCATION. 4th ed., (5th edition on order).

(Ref. LB 2336 N37 1996)

Provides data on thousands of foundations with a record of support for institutions of higher education. Descriptive entries indicate the nature of the grantmaker’s interests and note any restrictions that could prevent consideration of specific proposals. Indexed by subject, geographic area, grantmaker name, type of support, and by names of donors, officiers, and trustees.

COMPLETE GRANTS SOURCEBOOK FOR HIGHER EDUCATION. 3d ed.

(Ref. LB 2336 B38 1996).

Attempts to provide faculty members, administrators, and researchers with "the best foundation, corporate, and government funding sources for higher education."

GRANTS FOR TEACHERS: A GUIDE TO FEDERAL AND PRIVATE FUNDING.

(Ref. LB 2338 F44 1993).

Describes programs that support activities an educator might choose for professional development, provides guidance on submitting grant applications, and lists other directories helpful for finding additional sources of support.

 

Community Development, Health

FUNDING SOURCES FOR COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

(Ref. HN 90 C6 F86 1995).

Describes current funding programs that help to develop community resources or improve lives of community residents.

GRANT SEEKER’S GUIDE: FOUNDATIONS THAT SUPPORT SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC JUSTICE. 4th ed. (Ref. HV 97 A3 G73 1996).

Provides information on programs which support projects addressing hunger, housing, environmental concerns, etc.

NATIONAL GUIDE TO FUNDING IN HEALTH. 4th ed., 1995. (5th edition on order).

(Ref. RA 410.53 N376).

A starting point for grantseekers looking for foundation and corporate support for health programs.

AIDS FUNDING: A GUIDE TO GIVING BY FOUNDATIONS AND CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS. 4th ed., 1995.v (5th edition on order). (Ref. RA 644 A25 A3624).

Provides information on grantmakers’ interests, purposes, and limitations, and briefly describes grants that have been awarded as of 1994.

ENVIRONMENTAL GRANTMAKING FOUNDATIONS: DIRECTORY, 1996.

(Morrill Ref GE 80 E58)

| BACK |