Established in western Massachusetts in 1863 as the Massachusetts Agricultural College, the University of Massachusetts Amherst is a national research university and the flagship campus of the states five-campus University system. UMass, one of the founding members of the Five College Consortium established in 1965, offers reciprocal student access among the University and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges. The University currently enrolls approximately 24,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and offers 87 bachelor's degree programs, 6 associate's, 73 masters, and 51 doctoral programs in 10 schools and colleges.
The Archives of the University of Massachusetts Amherst document the institutional memory of the campus and serve as the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and cultural heritage of the University. As the collective memory of the university, the repository contains official records and items having historical value such as records of governance, policy, operation of administrative offices, departments, research, programs, and publications. Unpublished materials in the Archives include photographs, films, memorabilia, administrative records of major university offices, and the papers of presidents, trustees, administrative officers, and members of the faculty.
Some administrative records have been restricted.
Background on Creator:
The Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863 under the original Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862. In 1867, four faculty members and four wooden buildings awaited the first entering class of 56 students who would study a curriculum combining modern farming, science, technical courses, and liberal arts. The first female student enrolled at the college in 1892, the same year the first graduate degrees were authorized. In order to reflect a broader curriculum, what was known as "Mass Aggie" became Massachusetts State College in 1931; "Mass State" became the University of Massachusetts in 1947.
After World War II, the University of Massachusetts in Amherst experienced rapid growth in its physical facilities, enrollment, and curriculum. A temporary campus opened at Fort Devens (1946-1949) to accommodate the influx of returning veterans. By the 1954-1955 academic year, the University had enrolled 4000 students. By 1964, undergraduate enrollment jumped to 10,500, as Baby Boomers came of age. The turbulent political environment also brought a sit-in to the newly constructed Whitmore Administration Building. By the end of the decade, the completion of Southwest Residential Complex, the Alumni Stadium and the establishment of many new academic departments gave UMass Amherst much of its modern stature.
By the 1970s continued growth gave rise to a shuttle bus service on campus as well as several important architectural additions: the Murray D. Lincoln Campus Center, with a hotel, office space, restaurant, campus store, and passageway to a multi-level parking garage; the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, named tallest library in the world upon its completion in 1973; and the Fine Arts Center, with performance space for world-class music, dance and theater.
The University's second campus was opened in Boston in 1965, and expanded into the Harbor campus in 1974. A third campus, the University of Massachusetts Medical Center at Worcester, was founded in 1962, and enrolled its first class in 1970. The same year, the President's Office was moved from Amherst to separate offices in Boston, and the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each campus.
In 1991, Governor William F. Weld signed legislation creating a new five campus University of Massachusetts with a single president and a board of trustees. This legislation consolidated five public university campuses (the three UMass campuses, the University of Lowell, and Southeastern Massachusetts University) into a single university system with an autonomous governing board. The Board of Higher Education is the governing body of the University system.
The 1980s and 1990s saw the emergence of UMass Amherst as a major research facility with the construction of the Lederle Graduate Research Center and the Conte National Polymer Research Center. Other programs excelled as well. In 1996 UMass Basketball became Atlantic 10 Conference champs and went to the NCAA Final Four. Before the millennium, both the William D. Mullins Center, a multi-purpose sports and convocation facility, and the Paul Robsham Visitors Center bustled with activity, welcoming thousands of visitors to the campus each year.
UMass Amherst entered the 21st century as the flagship campus of the states five-campus University system, and with an enrollment of nearly 24,000 students and over 200,000 living alumni around the world. The University is also one of the founding members of the original Four College Cooperation (1956) and of the Five College Cooperative program established in 1965, offering reciprocal student access among the University of Massachusetts Amherst and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges.
The Archives of the University of Massachusetts Amherst document the institutional memory of the campus and serve as the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and cultural heritage of the University. As the collective memory of the university, the repository contains official records and items having historical value such as records of governance, policy, operation of administrative offices, departments, research, programs, and publications. Unpublished materials in the Archives include photographs, films, memorabilia, and administrative records of university offices.
In addition to documenting the official actions, events and activities of the University, the University Archives collects faculty, student and organizational papers. These materials significantly augment the official documentation of the University to provide information on student and faculty interests, activities and involvement with the University both on and off campus, and offer insights into the culture of the University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Materials in the Archives range from documentation of the original Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 which established the Massachusetts Agricultural College to recent editions of the student newspaper, the Massachusetts Daily Collegian and The Index (yearbook). The records of student housing and registered student organizations offer a glimpse into student activities, while University publications document University life, developments, and events.
The Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863 under the original Morrill Land Grant act of 1862. Four faculty members and four wooden buildings awaited the first entering class of 56 students in 1867. The first graduate degrees were authorized in 1892. What was known as "Mass Aggie" became Massachusetts State College in 1931, and the University of Massachusetts in 1947.
After World War II, the University of Massachusetts in Amherst experienced rapid growth in its physical facilities, enrollment, and programs. A temporary campus opened at Fort Devens (1946-1949) to accommodate the influx of returning veterans. The University's second campus was opened in Boston in 1965, and expanded into the Harbor campus in 1974. A third campus, the University of Massachusetts Medical Center at Worcester, was founded in 1962, and enrolled its first class in 1970. The same year, the President's Office was moved from Amherst to separate offices in Boston, and the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each campus.
In 1991, Governor William F. Weld signed legislation creating a new five campus University of Massachusetts with a single president and a board of trustees. This legislation consolidated five public university campuses (the three UMass campuses, the University of Lowell, and Southeastern Massachusetts University) into a single university system with an autonomous governing board. The Board of Higher Education is the governing body of the University system.
The University is one of the founding members of the original Four College Cooperation (1956) and of the Five College Cooperative program established in 1965, offering reciprocal student access among the University and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges.
This collection of materials consists of official University records and unofficial historical files. The wide range of documentation in this record group includes annual reports, special reports, minutes, directories, catalogs, newsclippings, press releases, and memorabilia.
University as a Whole is arranged into four major subject groups:
Includes documentation of the Morrill Land Grant as well as federal and state charters and legislation.
1966 - Massachusetts Board of Higher Education
1980 - Board of Regents
1991 - Higher Education Coordination Council
1996 - Board of Higher Education
Massachusetts Governor John A. Andrew incorporated the Board of Trustees for the Massachusetts Agricultural College on April 29, 1863. The first board of fourteen trustees was charged with the task of creating a new agricultural college. The following year, members of the Board were established as overseers for the college, and Charles L. Flint, secretary, became college secretary as well. The Board of Trustees (including student trustees), governs the University, and meets regularly to act on University-wide matters of policy, mission, finance, and campus maintenance. Governance responsibilities in some areas (e.g., tuition, academic program review and approval) are shared with the statewide Board of Higher Education. The Board of Trustees maintains a Chair and six standing committees: Executive, Administration and Finance, Academic and Student Affairs, Athletics, Audit, and External Affairs. The President and the Five College Chancellors administer board policy
The bulk of the Board of Trustees records consists of meeting minutes (1906-2007) and Trustee Documents (1963-2007). Trustee Meeting Minutes (1863-1981) and Trustee Documents (1963-1981) are also available on microfiche. Comprehensive lists of all trustees serving the college and university since 1863 can also be found in this record group. Some of the individual trustees have extensive files, which contain correspondence, publications, and news clippings. Additional materials can be found in Trustees Photographs. Of note are the records of the significant undertaking by the Trustees' "Commission on the Future of the University of Massachusetts" (1988-1989), which resulted in the state's five public university campuses being consolidated under a single President and Board of Trustees.
The Board of Trustees records are organized into series and sub-series. Series include:
Access to the Tenure Appointments/Recommendations files is restricted.
Access to the Trustee Workfolders is restricted.
On November 29, 1864, the Board of Trustees for the Massachusetts Agricultural College created the Office of the President and elected Henry Flagg French as the first president of the newly created land grant institution. Permanent, acting, and interim presidents served until 1969, when the Board of Trustees created a separate central administration for the University, which was reorganized into a tripartite institution.
When the President's office was relocated from the Amherst campus to separate offices in Boston in 1970, the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each of the five campuses. The responsibilities of the President and of the central administrative staff are summarized in the Governance Document of the University which was adopted in 1973. The president acts as the principal academic and executive officer of the University, presents policy recommendations to the Board of Trustees, keeps current a master plan of the University, prepares the annual budget, allocates the appropriated budget, appoints members of the faculty to tenure with the concurrence of the Board of Trustees, coordinates the work of all campuses of the University and promotes the general welfare of the University as a whole.
The President's Office records consist of the papers of individual presidents (1864-2007) and their Presidential Reports (1948-1984). Other major series include: Secretary of the University, specifically the papers of Secretary Robert J. McCartney (1957-1974), whose tenure spanned over two decades; Treasurer's Office (1864-2007), which contains the campus financial records; and records of the Donahue Institute for Governmental Services (1970-2007).
Access is restricted on some files of recent Presidents.
Individual presidents are arranged by date of inauguration.
No records in archives.
No records in archives.
No records in archives.
No records in archives.
No records in archives.
No records in archives.
The position of Chancellor, Amherst Campus, was created in 1970 when the office of the University President moved to Boston; the first person to serve as Chancellor was Oswald Tippo in 1970.
The Chancellor is the chief administrative officer of the campus and is responsible for carrying out policies and procedures as established by the Board of Trustees and the University President. The Chancellor also coordinates the major administrative units of the campus, each supervised by the Deputy Chancellor or Vice Chancellor. The Chancellor is responsible for campus strategic planning and, in particular, for proposing and reviewing activities that involve different administrative units, such as budget reallocations, enrollment management, facilities planning and some labor relations.
Externally, the Chancellor speaks for the campus to such audiences as trustees, state and federal legislators, alumni, state and local public officials, business and community leaders. In addition to the Deputy Chancellor and the Vice Chancellors, the Director of Athletics reports to the Chancellor, as does the Associate University Counsel, who advises the Chancellor and other members of the University community about legal issues.
Materials in the series Budget Documents (1908-2007) including news clippings (1885-2007) were first maintained in 1908 by Ralph J. Watts, the College's first full-time Secretary to the President. Robert Hawley, his successor, became the College's Treasurer in 1940. When the President's Office moved to Boston, the early budget files became part of the Chancellor's record. In 1969 the Office of Budgeting and Institutional Studies was created and it assumed budget responsibilities.
The Chancellor's materials consist primarily of the administrative records of individual Chancellors; additional series document activities of the Chancellor's Office. Since 1983, various Chancellors have issued The Chancellor's Report, an annual report of the Amherst Campus. Included in the report is the state of the campus and special topics such as student needs, the future of the University, relationships with the Commonwealth, and budget issues.
The Institutional Studies series is a collection of facts and reports, which have been compiled since 1960, including information on campus enrollment, degrees, programs, budget, and other institutional issues. The Chancellor's Lecture Series (1974-2007) documents this on-campus lecture program and its participants; VHS tapes are available for most of these lectures.
The records of the Chancellor's Office are organized into three major series (Individual Chancellors, Budget Documents and Institutional Studies) and a number of smaller series. Individual Chancellors has two major accretions: 1970-1982 and 1979-1984. These early records of the Chancellor's Office are arranged by subject heading and then alphabetically within each grouping.
This collection is stored off-site; advance notice is required for retrieval.
Early presidential budget papers, 1908-1945
News clippings, 1885-2007
1969 - Budgeting and Institutional Research
1974 - Budgeting, Institutional Research and Planning
1977 - Office of Budgeting and Institutional Studies (OBIS)
1980 - OBIS changed to Office of Planning and Budget (OPB)
1980 - Planning and Budgeting
1982 - Planning/Institutional Research (subsumed as an Administrative task in the Chancellor's and Provost's offices)
1982 - Budget Office (Organized under Vice Chancelor for Administration and Finance)
1983 - Institutional Research and Planning (OIRP)
1983 - Institutional Research and Planning
1983 - Administered by Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
1985 - Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs assumed direct responsibility
ca.1991 - Planning segment dropped from OIRP.
1993 - OAPA Picks up planning segment of OIRP.
No records in archives.
The early years of publicity for Massachusetts Agricultural College focused primarily on agriculture and home economics. During the Massachusetts State College period, new public relations programs were proposed in an attempt to broaden coverage of the entire college. Robert McCartney served as the first UMass News Editor (1948-1953) and as Director of Publications and News (1953-1956). In 1961, the entire central Public Relations staff of the University of Massachusetts consisted of a news and publications editor; however, the College of Agriculture had its own staff of publicity professionals (director, news, radio, television and publications editors).
In 1961, President Jown W. Lederle authorized the position of Assistant News and Publications Editor based on the assumption that there would be need for more publications and greater publicity as the University prepared for its centennial year in 1963. Over the next five years, the University's public relations program grew as the University expanded at a rate of approximately 1500 students per year. The two members of the News and Publications office divided their functions into news and publications. The staff in the agricultural communications area was incorporated into the University's public relations area with subsequent personnel shifts. All of these units reported informally to the Secretary of the University. Robert McCartney (who had taken a position as Director of University Relations) at the University of Maryland) returned to UMass in 1964 as Secretary of the University of Massachusetts and Director of University Relations.
In a major reorganization in 1969, Joseph Marcus was made Vice Chancellor, with repsonsibilities for Public Relations, Alumni, Special Programs, and Continuing Education. Marcus left the position after one year and the concept of a vice chancellor to manage the public relations area was abandoned. After Oswald Tippo became chancellor in 1970, he named Daniel Melley as Director of Public Affairs, with responsibility for news, publications, the Photo Center, and managerial responsibility for WFCR radio.
In the fall of 1973, the Public Affairs Office completed a total reorganization, which separated the editorial and design/production duties within publications. In 1983 the position of Vice Chancellor for University Relations and Development was created. This name changed in 1993 to Vice Chancellor for University Advancement to oversee public affairs, alumni relations and development.
This record group consists of materials gathered from several offices whose purpose has been (and continues to be) production of broad, University-based publications and publicity; these are primarily represented by news clippings, press releases, brochures, guidebooks, newsletters, bulletins, weekly newspapers, semi-monthly feature publications, special publications and photographic negatives.
Also included in this group are the following publications: Chancellor's Monthly Press Briefings, Chancellor's Annual Review of NewsClips, Commonwealth Research Reports, Campus Guidebooks, University Newsletter, Weekly Bulletin, Executive Bulletin, University Bulletin, brochures, Contact, UMass, Science Journal, University Notebook, Tips, News Summary, and the Commonwealth Journal.
The most fully documented series of this record group are:
This record group includes the collected records of many of the University offices and programs primarily concerned with academic affairs. Initially academic affairs was the responsibility of early presidents. In 1906, the Board of Trustess created the office of Dean of the College. As Dean of the entire college, the Dean was responsible for student attendance, scholarship standing, enforcement of faculty rules, and discipline.
In 1953 the office of Provost was created to provide leadership in all areas of academic activity. In 1970 the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost became the chief academic officer of the campus responsible for advising the Chancellor regarding the whole of the University's academic program.
The bulk of the records consist of the files of individual Deans of the College, Provosts and Vice Chancellors for Academic Affairs, as well as the University Year for Action (1971-1976). Also included are the records of interim and special appointees that report to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and the Provost, and the special programs, committees, institutes, and centers that were intitiated by or developed from those offices.
Arranged individually by date.
No records in archives.
Formerly the Audio-Visual Department
The Division of Continuing Education was established in 1970 as the de facto academic outreach program for the University. Its goal was to improve access to the academic resources of the University for part-time students. Shortly after its inception, this included the development of a specialized admissions process approved by the Faculty Senate and an integrated counseling, advising, registration and records operation geared to the needs of part-time students.
The Division of Continuing Education continues to provide specialized services and programming for part-time students including Tutoring Enrichment Assistance Model for Public School Students (TEAMS) and Arts Extention, which acts as a catalyst to stimulate interaction between the fine arts resources of the University and the people in the Commonwealth.
The bulk of the Continuing Education records is contained in three major series:
Massachusetts Agricultural College housed its first library in a room in the first South College building. When this building burned and the collection was destroyed in 1885, the faculty, students, and alumni donated their own books and journals to re-establish a collection which was then moved into the newly constructed combined chapel and library. In 1883 an Alumni Library Committee was established to raise funds for the construction of a Stone Chapel, which was built between 1884 and 1885. Now called Old Chapel, it was the first campus building designed for use as a library. Main library facilities have been housed in Old Chapel, Goodell Library (1935), and the University Library (called the "tower library") (1973), which was named the W.E.B. Du Bois Library in 1996. Other library facilities on campus included libraries for the biological sciences, physical sciences, and the Music Library. The Integrated Science and Engineering Library has combined the services of the biological and physical sciences and is housed in the Lederle Graduate Research Center.
Henry Hill Goodell was the first official Librarian (1885-1899). He was succeeded by:
The collection consists of reports, meeting minutes, budget and planning documents, correspondence, policies and procedures, staffing records, photographs, news clippings and releases, catalogs, bibliographies and special events information. The Director / Librarian's records (1924-1975) consist of accession lists, alphabetical and subject files, correspondence, and other materials. In other series detailed information can be found about the tower library design and construction, dedication, naming, brick problem, and the Mass Transformation and Class Act. Also included in the records is a significant amount of information on the Hampshire Inter-Library Center (HILC) and 5 College Cooperation.
This collection is organized into eleven major series:
Archives and Manuscripts was administered by Public Service Division beginning in 1983; In the Fall of 1990 the department was renamed Special Collections and Archives, and then Special Collections and University Archives in 2003.
The record group includes publications, organizational charts, and files from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and the Dean of Graduate Studies.
The University of Massachusetts Amherst has offered graduate study since 1896, awarding more than 11,360 doctoral and 37,480 master's degrees. With a Graduate Faculty of 1,100 in 2006 the Amherst campus offers 50 programs leading to a doctorate and 68 programs toward a master's degree.
Included in the Graduate School Records are files related to the the Graduate School Dean, graduate programs, and the records of the University Press Boston Office.
After eighteen years, the Boston Office of the University Press was closed in 2006.
The collection consists of files on individual books that were sponsored by the Boston Office and published by the Press including author correspondence, peer reviewer correspondence and confidential reports, and internal editorial, production, and marketing correspondence. Also included are files on individual projects that were pursued but did not result in publications, files on individual book series sponsored by the Boston Office, general correspondence files arranged by correspondent, and files regarding relationship of the Press with UMass Boston, including exchanges with Chancellors, Provosts, and Deans, and extensive external correspondence in support of the Boston Office during the 2003 budget crisis.
Editorial files are restricted for fifteen years from the date of creation.
The records of the College of Arts and Sciences document the history of the department and its programs. Notable inclusions are files from the office of the Dean, the Curriculum Advisory Council, the University Internship Program, English as a Second Language, and the Fine Arts Council.
Formerly under Associate Provost for Special Programs; reorganized in 1981
Formerly under Associate Provost for Special Programs; reorganized in 1981
Before 1995, arts programs were the responsibility of the Fine Arts Council. For materials relating to the University Art Gallery after 1995, please see the Fine Arts Center Records, RG 25/F2/U5.
Business courses were first offered at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in the early 1900s. The 1905-1906 Catalogue of the Massachusetts Agricultural College offered general economic courses and by 1907-1908, agricultural economics courses were being taught by the Department of Rural Social Sciences. When the college restructured during the 1911-1912 academic year, the Department of Agricultural Economics was established under the Division of Rural Social Sciences. From 1912 until 1935, Dr. Alexander E. Cance served as head of the department. In 1935 courses in general economics and business-related subjects transferred to the newly organized Department of Economics in the Division of Social Sciences, with Dr. Cance appointed Head. Cance remained in the position until 1942 when he was replaced by Dr. Phillip E. Gamble. Between 1935 and 1947, the curriculum expanded with many new courses such as Money, Banking, and Credit; Business Law; Principles of Transportation; Economics of International Trade; and Labor Problems.
In 1947, the Board of Trustees established the School of Business Administration. From 1947 to 1952, the faculty and curricula of the School of Business Administration and the Department of Economics were closely integrated, and Dr. Gamble served jointly as Head of the Department of Economics and Acting Dean of the School.
As a result of the rapid growth in faculty, and the diversification of student majors and curriculum offerings in the immediate post World War II period, the School of Business Administration was reorganized in 1952 and Dr. Milo Kimball was appointed Dean. In 1954, the School conferred graduate degrees for the first time to three students who had successfully completed the requirements for the degree of Master of Business Administration. In February 1957, Dean Kimball resigned his administrative responsibilities and returned to full-time teaching. Provost Shannon McCune assumed the duties of Acting Dean pending the arrival of the newly appointed Dean, Dr. Himy B. Kirshen.
The School was accredited at the undergraduate level by the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business in May 1958, and in March 1959, the Board of Trustees authorized the establishment of four academic departments within the school: Accounting, General Business and Finance, Management, and Marketing. The initial administrative officers of these departments were, respectively, Professors John W. Anderson, James B. Budtke, John T. Colon, and Harold E. Hardy.
In April 1965, the Business Advisory Council, a group of executives from a wide variety of industrial and service firms, was established to consult with the School on the development of its curricula and its research and service programs. In July 1967, the School established the Center for Business and Economic Research to encourage and support applied research by faculty and students in all areas of management and administration. Dr. George Simmons was appointed Director of the center. In September 1967, a program leading to the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Business Administration was introduced. In 1983, the School of Business Administration changed its name to School of Management. In 1998, it was renamed the Eugene M. Isenberg School of Management.
The record group consists of annual reports, deans' records, correspondence, committee reports, long-range planning, self-study reports, proposals, research reports, faculty reprint series, lists of faculty publications, general publications, brochures, seminar information, newsletters, newsclippings and other related materials.
In 1906 the Massachusetts Legislature enacted a law supporting the development of agricultural teaching in grades of schools in the Commonwealth. Then President, Kenyon L. Butterfield, a leader in the rural life movement, organized a separate Department of Agricultural Education at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in 1907, which introduced teacher-training courses for preparation of teachers of agriculture. The first head of the department, Professor William R. Hart, identified the departments mission as "the historical and philosophical study of industrial education leading to a rational interpretation of the meaning of agriculture as a study in modern school life. It is, in short, the effort to interpret agriculture in terms of rural betterment rather than in terms of profit and loss, and the drudgery of making a living. The work of instruction will be partly within the college and partly without."
In 1912, the College's individual departments were organized under newly formed divisions and Agricultural Education became part of the Division of Rural Social Science. Specific authorization providing training of vocational agricultural teachers was passed in 1914, but no classes were organized prior to the acceptance of the Smith-Hughes Act in 1917. During the 1918/1919 academic year, the college established one course in special methods of agricultural teaching for undergraduates, an apprentice teaching plan, and short courses for mature persons. The state agent for agricultural teacher training, Franklin E. Heald was located in a branch office in the agricultural building at the college. In September 1919, an additional member, Professor W. S. Welles, was appointed to the college teacher-training staff, with primary responsibility for the courses in agricultural education and with some itinerant teacher-training duties. The basic apprentice-teaching plan, which required a full term away from the campus for college credit, was put into effect in the winter of 1919.
On the recommendation of the Trustees' Faculty and Program of Study Committee, in 1932 the Board of Trustees changed the name of the Department of Agricultural Education to the Department of Education. In 1936, to more appropriately reflect the differences in majors offered, the Department of Education became the Department of Education and Psychology within the Division of Social Sciences. In 1938, the Division was renamed the Division of Liberal Arts. In 1947 the department of Education and Psychology was divided into separate departments and faculty members were housed in the former Liberal Arts Annex and later in Machmer Hall.
In 1948, University President Ralph Van Meter requested that the Department of Education prepare a program commensurate with the present and future needs of the citizens of Massachusetts. He also created a special faculty committee to analyze the advisability of creating a school of education that could respond to the drastic need for new teachers in Massachusetts in the post-war years. To meet this need, the University proposed expanding its teacher-training program. In 1956, the Department of Education was organized into a School of Education by President Jean Paul Mather. Dr. Albert W. Purvis served as the first Dean of the School of Education from 1956-1968.
The Education Building and Laboratory School opened in 1961. Although teacher training was the function of the School, the administration maintained that teacher education was a function of the entire University. To this end, cooperative programs were established with various schools and departments whereby these units provided the general education and subject content needed by the teacher trainees and also aided, in some cases, with the professional program.
The late 1960s and 1970s were expansive years for the School of Education. In 1967, with Provost Oswald Tippo and the University Trustees investing heavily in its development. The curriculum, departmental structure, and governance processes of the School were modified. Its faculty, graduate students and undergraduate students were organized into one of nearly three dozen centers (later clusters and concentrations), each focusing on one or a few of the aspects of managing and delivering educational content. The academic reforms achieved by the School of Education in the areas of experimentation, options, student responsibility, social action, and continuing innovation appeared to reflect the thoughts of many commissions involved in Higher Education at the time.
Between 1968 and 1971, fifty-five new tenured faculty were hired. By 1973, the School had ninety faculty members, including sixteen minority faculty and twelve women, and was ranked thirteenth in the nation for its research contribution to the American Educational Research Association. In addition, the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education recognized the School's offering twenty-two alternate teacher preparation programs.
In 1976 the Chancellor appointed a special Committee on the Future School of Education, which made a number of recommendations including, continuing "to increase the size and scope of its program of in-service education, primarily to meet the needs of school systems in the Commonwealth, but, also to provide professional improvement for people in other institutions and agencies." Major change came in the 1976-1977 academic year with the establishment of a new mission. The central mission of the School became the training and development of professional leaders in the field of teaching and in non-teaching areas of research, administration, and the human services. The need for the School to foster partnerships between the University and the Public School system as well as with other urban and rural agencies statewide was also addressed. As a result, between 1977 and 1993, the school was organized into divisions and concentrations. The major divisions were Human Services and Applied Behavioral Sciences; Educational Policy, Research and Administration; and Instructional Leadership and concentrations such as Alternative Schools Programs and the Horace Mann Bond Center.
The late 1980s saw a dramatic decrease in state support for the University, and the School of Education suffered cuts. In 1993, the School reorganized into three major departments: Education Policy, Research, and Administration; Student Development and Pupil Personnel Services; and Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies.
This record group is comprised of annual reports; Executive Committee Minutes and Faculty Minutes; correspondence and memoranda; biographical information; organizational charts and directories; audits; policies and procedures, guidelines and handbooks; grants and proposals; accreditation reports and program evaluations, studies, surveys, reviews and data sheets; technical reports and publications; catalogs, brochures, pamphlets and flyers; course descriptions and schedules, curriculum, workshop materials and sample portfolios; bulletins, newsletters, articles; news releases and newsclippings; dedication programs; films; artifacts and related materials. Two unique collections are the early collection of Teacher Training: Vocational Agriculture materials (1912-1964) and the National School Alternative Programs films and related materials.
The National School Alternative Program films and related materials are housed off-site and require 24-hour retrieval notification.
Includes the University Center for Community College Affairs.
ncludes the Nonformal Education Center.
No records in archives.
This record group is organized into divisions and concentrations.
No records in archives.
This series is arranged alphabetically and listed with pre- and post-1977 cluster/division affiliations.
Organized into three major departments.
Beginning in 1867, Massachusetts Agricultural College offered engineering courses in surveying and the construction of roads and bridges - practical skills that might frequently be used as part of any farming routine. These courses, offered by the Mathematics Department, were the only classes offerend in engineering for almost fifty years.
In 1914, the department of Agricultural Engineering was established within the Division of Agriculture. Christian I. Gunness taught courses in farm structures and farm machinery. In 1938, the Department of Mathematics and Civil Engineering combined with the Department of Agricultural Engineering to form General Engineering. Professor Gunness and the other Agricultural Engineering faculty offered six specialized courses; George A. Marston and John D. Swenson brought to the new department a program of eighteen courses in general engineering that had been developed in the Department of Mathematics.
In the fall of 1945, the Division of Engineering was created. In 1946, the Division split into two departments, Agricultural Engineering and Civil Engineering. The School of Engineering was established one year later. The school originally had four departments: Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, and Agricultural, with each offering a four-year undergraduate curriculum leading to a bachelor of science degree. In addition, the Mechanical Engineering Department administered an optional curriculum in Industrial Engineering.
In 1952, the Department of Chemical Engineering was added to the School of Engineering. The roots of this new department lay in the Department of Chemistry in the School of Science. The School of Engineering became the College of Engineering in 1985. The College of Engineering majors are organized in four academic departments: Chemical Engineering; Civil and Environmental Engineering; Electical and Computer Engineering; and Mechanical and Industrial Engineering.
This record group contains annual reports and meeting minutes; Executive Council and Engineering Research Council records; dean's records; curriculum and program materials; proposals and accreditation reports; reports and publications; curriculum for summer short courses; brochures and pamphlets; and newsletters and publicity files. Deans' records contain materials representing the first four deans of the College of Engineering:
Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) was founded in 1863 when the Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 provided funds for the establishment of colleges of agriculture and mechanical arts throughout the nation. The curriculum changed throughout the early years of MAC although practical courses in agriculture and horticulture remained at its core. Through time, the curriculum broadened as a result of the changing economy, agricultural techniques and perceptions by college and state administrators about what constituted "rural development."
In 1907, the Division of Agriculture and the Division of Horticulture were established. Frank A. Waugh, Professor of Horticulture, came to the College in 1902, and in 1903 established an undergraduate curriculum in landscape gardening, one of only two in the country at the time. By 1909 fifty-two courses in agriculture and horticulture were offered, organized into four sections: Agronomy, Animal Husbandry, Dairying, and Farm Administration. The Horticulture Division included the Departments of Landscape Gardening, Floriculture, Market Gardening, Pomology and Forestry.
In 1915, a graduate curriculum in Landscape Gardening was developed within the Division of Horticulture, which, after three semesters, would lead to a masters degree. By 1918, the graduate program was called Landscape Architecture (it was not until 1930 that the undergraduate program in Landscape Gardening was re-named Landscape Architecture, paralleling the change in name of the Massachusetts Agricultural College to the Massachusetts State College in 1931).
In response to the growing need for trained farmers during the World War I period, a two-year professional and technical school was founded in 1918 as the "Two-Year Course". The divisions of Horticulture and Agriculture were re-organized into separate schools in 1945. Five years later, under new leadership, the two schools merged into the School of Agriculture and Horticulture, which in 1955 was re-named the College of Agriculture. The College or Agriculture was organized into the College of Food and Natural Resources in 1972. In 1975, the Division of Home Economics transferred to the College under the Department of Food Science.
In 1984, recognizing the role that the University of Massachusetts plays in regional economic development, the State Legislature established a Center for Rural Massachusetts at the Amherst campus, an information clearinghouse that assists town and state officials in policy development around such issues as population growth and urban sprawl, subdivision zoning, rising residential price fluctuations, and wise use of agricultural lands for development.
In 1991 the Division of Home Economics became the Department of Consumer Studies reflecting the multi-disciplinary focus of the department. Two majors were offered at this time, Apparel Marketing and Family, and Consumer Sciences. In 2000 the Apparel Marketing program was eliminated. Subsequently, due to budget concerns and a lack of critical mass of faculty to meet its curriculum obligations, the Department of Consumer Studies was eliminated in December, 2001. The Family and Consumer Sciences program, within Consumer Studies, was thereafter transferred to the Department of Economic Resources. In 2003 the College of Food and Natural Resources was reorganized and changed its name to the College of Natural Resources and the Environment.
This record group consists of Dean's annual reports, organizational charts, personnel lists, committee minutes, lecture materials, data sheets, maps and census statistics, conference proceedings, course catalogs, directories, publications, handbooks, photographs and audio-visual materials, and other related materials.
Portions of this collection are stored off-site and require advance notification for retrieval.
Experimental work was first conducted at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in the 1870s by Charles A. Goessmann, Levi Stockbridge, and President William Smith Clark. In 1882 a formal experiment station was established. The State Agricultural Experiment Station (State Station) was directed by Charles A. Goessmann. In 1888 a second station was founded under provisions of the Hatch Act and was named the Hatch Experiment Station while the earlier one continued under the name of the State Station. In 1895 the two stations merged under the name Hatch Station, which continued until 1907, when it was changed to Massachusetts Agricultural Experiment Station.
Contains annual reports, Board of Control minutes, Joseph B. Lindsey letter copy book (1890-1900), bulletins, and photo albums (1882-1895).
From 1935 to the 1940s, Professor David Rozman and Ruth E. Sherburne of the Agricultural Experiment Station, Department of Economics, compiled agricultural, economic and demographic data in cooperation with the Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management for a project initiated by Bureau of Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Adjustment Administration of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The resulting study documents adjustments in farming by type of farming areas, from the standpoint of agricultural adjustment and planning, including soil conservation. The project utilized base maps compiled under a Works Progress Administration project (No. 20677) in conjunction with the Massachusetts State Planning Board, in the 1930s-1940s, which are included in the collection.
Included in this series are maps, statistical charts and tables of land use and growth in many of the towns in Massachusetts for the period from the mid-1930s to the early 1940s.
In May 1914 Congress passed the Smith-Lever Act appropriating $10,000 to establish, through the U.S. Department of Agriculture, an extension service at Massachusetts Agricultural College and in several surrounding counties. The funds were to be used to support cooperative extension work (primarily lectures and demonstrations), organization of teaching clubs, and work with local schools in agriculture and home economics. Laura A. Comstock, the first Professor of Home Economics (1913), became home demonstration leader in 1916 when she received her joint appointment from the College and the United States Department of Agriculture, becoming the first Massachusetts State leader of Home Demonstration Agents.
In 1918 a new law providing for county extension work was passed by the Massachusetts Legislature which stipulated that county extension services had to be administered under local boards of trustees. This "home rule" policy for extension was supported by President Butterfield who believed that extension services should be administered and controlled by the constituency that they served. This degree of local administration was the first of its kind in the nation.
In the 1930s, the Extension Service developed educational materials for the federal government. The Cooperative Extension Service responded to World War II by identifying local leaders and coordinating Extension with other agencies assisting farmers with maintaining or increasing production. Since 1947, when Massachusetts State College became the University of Massachusetts, the Extension Service has undergone organizational changes and widened its responsibilities. Formerly used only in reference to crops and other farm products, agriculture was redefined and expanded to include all the processes through which farm products pass before reaching the consumer. It came to apply to problems affecting the use of natural resources and environmental influences, which led to new staff appointments in such fields as resource development, environmental science, food processing and marketing.
In the years following WWII, Cooperative Extension took an active role in assisting other countries with establishing extension services. The result was cooperative agreements between the University of Massachusetts and institutions in Japan (University of Hokkaido), West Germany, Vietnam and others; and in 1963, the University and the Agency for International Development signed a contract to carry out an agricultural training program in Malawi, Africa.
In 1996, UMass Extension was moved from the College of Food and Natural Resources to University Outreach and, John Gerber was then appointed Director of UMass Extension. In 2000, Stephen Demski assumed the role of Interim Director of UMass Extension and Associate Vice Chancellor University Outreach.
Consists of annual, directors', and project reports; histories; committee records; course materials; subject files; bulletins, leaflets, circulars, newsletters, newsclippings, and press releases; and other published materials.
Statistical information on Massachusettts farm prices compiled by Roy E. Moser, Extension Economist, Department of Farm Management.
When the Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863, the door was opened for the future study of home economics. The Land Grant College Acts (1862 and 1890) provided early land-grant institutions with unique opportunities to provide "practical and useful quality education for the mass of citizens." In 1914, the Smith-Lever Act created the Cooperative Extension Service with Home Economics Extension as an essential component. The Extension Service was charged with the responsibility of taking practical information from the land grant colleges and the Department of Agriculture to the citizenry of the Commonwealth.
Prior to 1916 there were very few women students at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. Some took class as early as 1892; however, it was not until 1905 that undergraduate women first received degrees. Between 1910 and 1923, 47 women attended the College and 37 graduated. Their extracurricular activities included holding class offices, Landscape Art Club, Florist and Gardeners Club, as well as fellowship at Delta Phi Gamma, the first sorority on campus. Additional women faculty and new curriculum were established that would meet the needs of these early women students. Starting in 1916, a historic point in time, women would appear thereafter in every graduating class.
The first home economics course offered at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Foods and Conservation, was offered as part of the ten weeks Winter School of the 1917-1918 college year. As they lacked their own facilities, students (the majority were women) used the Amherst High School laboratory on Saturday mornings for the laboratory work.
In 1919, Edna Lucy Skinner was hired as Professor of Home Economics and head of that new program at Massachusetts Agricultural College. Under her leadership (1919-1946), the program grew from a Department in 1924, to a Division in 1928 and then a separate School in 1945, with Edna Skinner as Dean. As of 1921, the Department of Home Economics was offering to women students elective courses only; and for the first time, a full-time instructor was available, which resulted in an increased interest and impetus in this work. The increasing interest in these courses, and the demand from the women students for additional work, together with urgent requests from many High School girls who wished to attend the Massachusetts Agricultural College and pursue a major in Home Economics supplied impetus for developing a full Home Economics program. Their goal was to develop a course in Home Economics, which would emphasize home making as a fundamental vocation for young women.
In 1930, the Home Economics Department printed a brochure titled "Instruction in Home Economics, which encouraged women to study home economics at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. The study of Home Economics offered "the modern girl" the opportunity to take courses which would be both broadening and satisfying as she pursued her chosen vocation or profession. The first graduate work in home economics was done in 1935-1936 by Dorothy Doran; Gladys Cook received the first Masters of Science in Home Economics in 1936. Helen S. Mitchell joined the Department of Home Economics faculty in 1935.
During World War II, undergraduate women at the Massachusetts State College were offered many more opportunities in higher education; especially in the sciences. As the WWII veterans returned home and went to college, Mass State College saw a decline of women's enrollment in the sciences. However, women enrolled at the College were evenly divided between majors in the liberal arts, physical and biological sciences, and Home Economics. In 1945, the Division of Home Economics became the School of Home Economics with Helen Michell appointed its second Dean in 1946, serving until 1960 when she retired.
In 1947, when the Massachusetts State College became the University of Massachusetts, both the University's undergraduate and graduate programs were expanded. Though women had made great gains during the war, they still faced traditional thinking in the post-war years. In his 1950 Annual Report, President Van Meter rationalized that women attending college could best prepare themselves for their life's work by taking Home Economics classes. In 1973 the School of Home Economics became the Division of Home Economics (1973-1991). Later reorganization resulted in Human Nutrition and Foods being moved within the College of Food and Natural Resources, under the Department of Food Science; and Human Development was transferred to the School of Education.
In 1985, an extensive external review of the Home Economics Division's organization was conducted following a period of internal strife and a yearlong search for a permanent director. In 1988 Penny A. Ralston was appointed as Head Division of Home Economics, serving until 1992; when Sheila Mammen, Associate Professor of Consumer Studies, was appointed head. In 1991 the Division of Home Economics became the Department of Consumer Studies reflecting the multi-disciplinary focus of the department. Two majors were offered at this time, Apparel Marketing and Family, and Consumer Sciences. Also, in 1991, as part of Cooperative Extension's reorganization, three program coordinators joined the Department of Consumer Studies on an interim basis.
In 2000 the Apparel Marketing program was eliminated. Due to budget concerns and a lack of a critical mass of faculty members to meet its curriculum obligations, the Department of Consumer Studies was eliminated in December of 2001, with the Board of Trustees approving tenure for the four Consumer Studies faculty members, as they transferred into different departments at UMass. The Family and Consumer Sciences program, within Consumer Studies, was thereafter transferred to the department of Economic Resources.
Formerly the Home Economics Division.
In 1912, the Massachusetts Agricultural College experienced a fatal epidemic of scarlet fever. In response to this disaster, the Massachusetts Legislature appropriated sufficient funds to construct an infirmary. When the infirmary opened in 1915, a resident nurse was placed in charge of the new facility; and in 1930, Dr. Ernest J. Radcliffe served as college physician. In the 1940s Curry Hicks, while serving as director of the Athletic Program, was also made responsible for student health services and Dr. Radcliffe provided the leadership for a newly created department of Student Health.
In 1939, MAC, in conjunction with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, approved a cooperative program in public health instruction. To support the program, a new Department of Bacteriology was established in 1940. The Board of Trustees approved additional public health courses in 1941 and voted to continue public health courses in 1944. The public health curricula included courses in General Bacteriology and Community Sanitation within the Department of Bacteriology and Public Health. In 1947 the program of undergraduate instruction was expanded to include a Master of Science degree, and in 1948, it graduated its first students.
A graduate program was established in environmental health in 1948. In 1951, the Trustees approved the establishment of a nursing program curriculum and in 1953, Mary A. Maher was appointed Director of a newly formed Division of Nursing. The first class was organized in September 1954. Agreements were reached with a nearby Springfield Hospital for the use of clinical facilities during the following summer session. In 1960, on recommendation of the President and vote of the Trustees, the Division was officially redesignated the School of Nursing.
In 1961, public health courses were moved from the Bacteriology Department, which then became the Department Of Microbiology. Robert W. Gage was appointed as head of the newly-created Department of Public Health while also serving as director of University Health Services. At that time the unit comprised two faculty members, experts in both health department administration and environmental sanitation. The academic offerings consisted of a master's level program and courses for undergraduate students. The primary purpose of the program was to educate graduates in conventional hygiene and sanitation and prepare them for management of local health departments. By 1964, the department had grown, and Dr. Howard A. Peters was given a joint appointment as director of Environmental Health in the University Health Services and as assistant professor in the Department of Public Health. The appointment of William A. Darity in 1965 introduced community health education as an essential component of the academic public health program.
In 1973, the School of Health Sciences was formed, comprised of the Division of Nursing and a separate Division of Public Health. The Department of Communication Disorders was added in 1975. The School of Health Sciences split into the School of Public Health and the School of Nursing in 1989. In 1993, the School of Health Sciences was renamed the School of Public Health and Health Sciences. In addition to educating graduate and undergraduate students and providing continuing education for health professionals, the school emphasized pursuit of basic and applied research as well as outreach through technical assistance and consultation to health and other human service agencies, to communities in the private sector, and to innovative demonstration programs. The School also began strong participation in scientific, professional, and policy-making bodies at the state, national, and international levels. The Center for Research and Education of Women's Health (CREWH) was established in 1997 to provide for the exchange of knowledge from current research; education on disease prevention, exercise and fitness; and nutrition information for women in the University and local community.
Record group consists of annual reports; department histories; accreditation reports; correspondence and memoranda; proposals; technical reports; faculty lists; course descriptions, course of study guides and syllabi; training handbooks and laboratory exercises; brochures and flyers; newsclippings, newsletters and articles; surveys; conference materials; and related materials.
School of Public Health (created July 1989)
School of Public Health and Health Sciences (created August 1993)
The School of Nursing was created July 1, 1989.
As early as 1867, the Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) offered physical education in conjunction with the Department of Military Science and Tactics under the instruction of an army officer. In addition, beginning in 1868, athletics characterized as "physical activities" were available to the students. One of the first recorded athletic events a local agricultural fair, at which Amherst College defeated MAC's first team, the Wilder Baseball Association (Mass Aggies) by a score of 57-38. By 1871, a small group of students had banded together under the direction of Joshua Ward, the College's first official coach, to expand this new, on-campus activity concept to include the Boating Organization and College Navy. However, the success of this newly instituted Intercollegiate Program was short-lived, as by 1875 low student moral, a lack of class spirit, and virtually non-existent funds forced the handful of interested students into a new idea, that of intra-class play or, as it is known today, Intramurals. As in the past sporadic student efforts and an unapproving faculty continued to hamper the general acceptance of any organized activity, but despite these obstacles, derivatives of what we know today as fencing, boxing, skiing, riflery, canoeing, bicycling, tennis, and football all made their modest emergence and meager impact on the quality of campus life.
By the turn of the century, the student body at MAC had increased to 668, and cries were being heard for coaching, facilities, equipment, and some form of athletic organization. Faculty opposition was lessening and concentrated efforts were under way by the newly created MAC Alumni Athletic Association to drain and grade the College's first official playing field. The Drill Hall was converted to accommodate indoor activity, athletic training tables for pre-game meals were initiated, and the first "letter sweater' was given.
By 1904, the athletic program was introduced to the Commonwealth when the Boston Globe recognized and hailed an Aggie athletic team, giving the program new life and inspiring the following year's baseball and football teams on to winning seasons. Unfortunately, however, student efforts to solidify this newly initiated interest and growth was soon to be again undermined, as President Kenyon Butterfield took a strong stand against "overemphasis" and any alumni intervention. His fear of overemphasis led to very little emphasis, and his conception that alumni involvement would lead to corruption left the hapless program floundering and directionless.
It wasn't until 1909 that a formal department of Physical Education and Hygiene was established under the leadership of Dr. Percy L. Reynolds. The physical education program on the Massachusetts campus was largely the result of the efforts of three people: Curry S. Hicks (who would eventually guide the Department of Athletics and Physical Education over the next 38 years), Mrs. Adeline Hicks, and Harold M. Gore. Hicks, who had taken over the department from Percy L. Reynolds in 1911, had built a program which stressed the promotion of physical fitness through exercise in group play. Instruction had aimed at the development of skills which would be employed not only during the days of college but also in the period of adulthood to follow.
After creating his policies of "no under-the-table antics" for coaches, alumni contributions with "no strings attached", and Program growth by means of student fees, Curry Hicks developed the Joint Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics to employ his new commandments. By 1918, the first admission had been charged for a contest, $375,000 was raised for a new field house, and the concept of a full-time year-round teacher/coach was introduced.
According to a 1933 report by Curry S. Hicks, the activities of Physical Education Department were organized under five major branches; Health Program, Athletics, Required Class Exercise, Teacher-Training, and the Women's Department. The Department of Physical Education and Hygiene became the Division of Physical Education in 1935. Expansion of the physical education program started slowly in the 1940s and moved ahead rapidly after World War II. In 1940 an administrative reorganization created four departments where only one had existed before. Harold M. Gore was made head of the Department of Physical Education for Men, and Ruth Totman, head of the department for women. Dr. Ernest J. Radcliffe, who had been the college physician since 1930, headed the new Department of Student Health, and Curry Hicks, division head, was also director of Athletics.
The Athletic Program's lack of any type of thrust, continued to contradict the new trends appearing across the United States exemplifying intercollegiate expansion and growth. While other land grant colleges improved, Athletics at MAC were stagnant. In 1954 Sidney W. Kauffman was brought in as head of the program for men. The Board of Trustees approved new curriculum and a major in Physical Education for men in 1954. These changes modernized the program of teacher training and attracted a larger number of students. It wasn't until 1958, however, that the Trustees approved a major in Physical Education for women, and a women's physical education building was completed in 1959. Under the leadership of Ruth Totman a new major curriculum was introduced for women in physical education.
At its annual meeting in Boston, on February 23, 1960, the Board of Trustees of the University of Massachusetts, redesignated the Division of Physical Education as the School of Physical Education. In 1993 the Board of Trustees eliminated the School of Physical Education and placed the responsibility for General Physical Education under Special Programs. Today the Director of Athletics reports directly to the Chancellor.
This record group consists of annual reports, Athletic Board records, committee meeting minutes, policies, financial statements (1911-1921), histories, handbooks, Varsity "M" Club records, Hall of Fame records, athletic field records, correspondence and memoranda, curriculum and teacher training courses, colloquia and conference materials, schedules and scores (1871-1923), newsletters and newsclippings, media programs and guides, brochures and catalogs, pamphlets and flyers, and related materials.
Within each series in RG 25, materials are arranged into the following subseries:
Prior to 1995, arts programs were the responsibility of the Fine Arts Council. For University Gallery Records before 1995, please see the records of the College of Arts and Sciences, RG 11/15. All New World Theater records prior to 1995 have been added to RG 25/F2/N4.
The Asian Arts and Culture Program was created in 1999 and is devoted to the expression of the performing and visual arts of Asian countries.
Materials include two Chinese calligraphy scrolls, Asian puppet exhibit materials, posters and photographs from performances, brochures, season programs, videotaped performances, audio cds, and two books: Arts in India 2003-2004 and Rituals in Dance.
This record group consists of materials gathered from university offices, units, and centers responsible for admissions, financial aid, and student services (including housing, health and religious services, disability services, academic support, transportation, and campus safety).
Included in this record group are the records of Dean of Students, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, United Christian Foundation, Counseling Center Research Reports, Student Affairs Research and Evaluation Office and Student Affairs Research, Information and Systems (SARIS) reports, and Pulse Surveys.
Published since 1890 by the Young Men's Christian Association and subsequently by the Christian Association, Student Religious Council, Student Senate, Women's Student Government Association, Office of Dean of Students and lastly by the Office of Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, these handbooks were generally edited and produced by students, although content and titles of the handbooks have changed through time. The student handbooks consist of maps and general information about the college and university including information about organizations, clubs, services, regulations and policies, faculty, work opportunities and social activities. Beginning in 1971 the Student Handbook was expanded to provide new students more detailed information about the University before they arrived. In the late 1980's the Student Handbook ceased as other publications provided this service.
The Office of Dean of Women was established in 1945 and the Office of Dean of Men was created in 1948. President Lederle created the Office of the Dean of Students in 1961, to replace the separately structured offices of the Dean of Men and Dean of Women, and to provide more effective, more flexible support for a growing and changing student body. In the 1960's, the Office of the Dean of Students had responsibility for almost all of the operational units related to student life, including Admissions, Records, Residence Halls, Dining Halls,Student Union, Student Activities, Placement, and Financial Aid. As the University became a statewide administrative unit with the opening of UMass-Boston and the Medical School, there was an increasing conflict between the Office of the Dean of Students on the Amherst campus and the growing demands for a responsive administrative hierarchy. In 1970, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs was therefore created to provide an appropriate level of supervision for the various Student Affairs divisions with regard to budget, personnel and administration. The Office of the Dean of Students then became a student contact-based office, which cooperated and collaborated with the other divisions.
This series consists of the records of the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.
Formerly Housing Services
Renamed the Center for Student Development.
Collection contains newsletters and other publications, historical files, ALANA Caucus materials, meeting minutes and files pertaining to ALANA RSOs.
Director's files and budget materials are restricted.
Formerly Dean of Administration
Formerly Waste Management and Moving Services
This extensive series contains information regarding many of the buildings, including academic, residential, administrative and auxiliary services, on the Amherst campus. Also found in this series are materials about some of the outlying University facilities. The files include histories, correspondence, reports, dedications, descriptions, floor plans, newsclippings, inventory lists of furnishings, artifacts and other related items.
1968 Joint Town-University Task Force
After September 1983, the unit was administered by Vice-Chancellor for University Relations and Development; the records themselves are held in the originating office. The name changed in Fall of 1993 to Vice Chancellor for University Advancement.
The Archives holds material on over 5,000 individual faculty and staff members, ranging from vitae and resumes to research notes, newsclippings, and publications. Materials for faculty who also held adminstrative positions may be filed in the relevant record group(s). More substantial collections of faculty papers are designated by the call number FS.
The Educational Policies Council was preceded by the Curriculum Committee and the Course of Study Committee.
Report of the Graduate Research Center
See also MS 152, American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO Records.
Alphabetically arranged with biographies, publications, and other papers interfiled.
Record Group 45 represents the collected records of student activities from 1867, including the first entering class of Massachusetts Agricultural College, to the present. Included in the materials are reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, brochures and programs, newsclippings and student-sponsored publications, documents activities, issues, programs and growth of the student body through student government units and committees; ethnic, cultural and special interest groups; unions and associtaions; fine arts groups; honorary societies; religious groups; social action groups; fraternities and sororities; and student protests and demonstrations.
Professional student groups materials are housed separately with the department, school, or discipline with which they are affiliated.
This series consists of the collected student publications from Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007) and includes student newspapers, magazines, newsletters, inserts, yearbooks, and songbooks, which are not necessarily affiliated with a special student interest group or academic department on campus. Limited amounts of administrative materials are available and filed separately for some of the publications.
First published in 1890 as a semi-monthly student newspaper of the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Aggie Life's mission was to record all matters of general interest concerning the College, students and alumni, and to provide a forum for student writing. Prior to 1890, weekly college news appeared in a column of the local town newspaper, The Amherst Record. In 1901, after the students voted to discontinue using the term Aggie to identify student publications, Aggie Life was renamed the College Signal.
Newspaper contains campus and alumni news, feature stories, student editorials and literary works, photographs, advertisements and sports information. Also included in this collection are Aggie Life and College Signal secretary's book (1893-1905), Aggie Life Banquet materials (1891), and unbound issues of Aggie Life (1900-1901).
Issues arranged chronologically within bound volumes.
Issues contain a blend of original student (and some faculty) prose, poetry, short stories and artwork. Notable contributors included Robert L. Levey (class of 1960), Beverly (Buffy) Sainte-Marie (class of 1962), Paul E. Theroux (class of 1963) and faculty member, Jules Chametzky (see FS 1). Included in the collection are some clippings pertaining to the history of Caesura. Caesura was also published under previous titles:
The Massachusetts Daily Collegian, successor to the College Signal, began as a weekly student newspaper in 1914. In 1951 it moved to semi-weekly publication and then to three-times-weekly in 1957. In 1967 it became a daily newspaper, changing its title to The Massachusetts Daily Collegian. From the early 1930s to the late 1940s, Professor Maxwell Goldberg guided the Collegian staff as a faculty advisor. Today, the Collegian operates without a faculty advisor as a financially independent agency funded by advertisement monies. The Massachusetts Daily Collegian is part of the Division of Campus Activities under the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.
The nature of the content of the Collegian has changed over the years, particularly since the 1940s when, as a result of campus involvement in WWII and University growth, the newspaper expanded its scope to include information pertaining to broader campus issues and world events, campus news and announcements, world news (primarily since the early 1950s), editorials, columns and opinion pieces, sports news, photographs, and student comics are regular components. Special feature pages were introduced in the late 1970s for Women; World News; Arts and Living; Black Affairs; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Issues; and Jewish Affairs. Other materials in this collection include reports, special and anniversary issues, and articles and news clippings pertaining to The Massachusetts Daily Collegian. Administrative files on the Women's Occupation of the Collegian office in 1978, are also included.
The complete set of publications (1914-2007) is available on microfilm. It is housed as #A334 in the library's microfilm collection.
The Collegian Quarterly first appeared 1937 and 1938 in newspaper format as a literary supplement to The Massachusetts Collegian to "offer the [Massachusetts State College] student an outlet for the expression of his Ideas and Experience." Under the guidance of the Academic Activities Board, the Collegian Quarterly Board (consisting of the Editor, Associate Editor and Assistant Editor) and staff edited and published four issues each academic year. Starting in the autumn of 1938, the Collegian Quarterly was printed in a smaller booklet format, although the 1944 issue was printed in newspaper format. The name changed in 1946 to Quarterly and in 1958 to The Literary Magazine. The Literary Magazine was succeeded by Caesura in 1962.
Issues contain student prose and poetry, photographs, and sketches, as well as advertisements. Included in the collection is one small folder containing memoranda, newsclippings and a 1981 note from Dr. Max Goldberg detailing some historical information on the Collegian Quarterly.
Arranged chronologically by year in bound volumes (1937-1952); loose issues exist for 1955 and 1958.
The records of the Aggie Life and the College Signal secretary (1893-1905) are included in this series. Collection consists of bound volumes (1901-1914) and unbound issues (1901-1905).
Also available on microfilm: College Signal (1901-1914), RG 190/12.
The first undergraduate yearbook was published in 1869 and described by its editors as "a pamphlet designed to represent the internal growth and status of the College, and which we hope may prove of interest alike to members of the College and to the public". Originally the junior class was responsible for its organization and publication; however in 1934, both the junior and senior classes produced their own separate editions. From 1935 to 2006, the yearbook was organized and published by the senior class. The yearbook was discontinued during the 2006-2007 academic year.
The archives maintain several copies of the Index for reference and research. There is occasional documentation of protests and demonstrations; dignitaries, scholars and performers visiting campus; military presence on campus; status of library and greenhouse collections; art and horticultural shows; world events; and advertisements. The first individual student photographs appeared in the 1902 Index. In recent years, only a small fraction of the graduating class has elected to have portraits included. Recent yearbooks also include information on the five-college consortium, surrounding communities, campus maps and transportation.
The Minuteman is an independent student newspaper published by The Silent Majority, a Registered Student Organization of the University of Massachusetts Amherst. First published in the spring of 1986, the newspaper, according to its first editors, "provides a forum for alternative political views seldom expressed in existing campus media."
Arranged chonologically by date.
First published in 1921, Shorthorn was the yearbook of the two-year Stockbridge School of Agriculture of the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Massachusetts State College, and the University of Massachusetts. The name changed to STOSAG in 1958.
Also the Summer Statesman, Crier, Summer Crier, Summer News, Summer Time, and Solstice
The Stockbridge School of Agriculture yearbook, previously published as Shorthorn (1921-1957), was renamed STOSAG in 1958 on the 40th anniversary of the school's establishment in 1918. It ceased publication after the 1995 edition.
Yahoo, a collegiate humor magazine, was first published in 1954 by students at University of Massachusetts Amherst "to satirize college life in general and to expose the humorous institutions of the University in particular." The magazine also provided a forum for student expression and opinion on broader contemporary issues. Yahoo earned the description "ill-fated" in 1966, when it finally became too outrageous for its time. Following a verbal barrage by Senator John Harrington (D-Lowell) who was displeased by cartoons, the university administration cut Student Senate funds from Yahoo in 1966. Following the suspension, an "unmentionable" campus humor magazine was published in 1968, under the titles "Magazine" and "NO". In the spring of 1969, Yahoo returned to campus when the Trustees approved the re-use of the name Yahoo for the "unnamed" campus humor magazine. The last issues of Yahoo were published in 1973.
Magazines contain feature articles, short stories, editorials, poems, cartoons, sketches, photographs, and advertising. Organization records include constitutions, board and committee files, correspondence, and newsclippings.
Published issues arranged chronologically by year in bound volumes (1954-1966); loose issues, 1967-1973. Organizational records are arranged alphabetically.
In 1899, undergraduate students at the Massachusetts Agricultural College initiated efforts to form a College Senate and in 1901, the Student Senate was established. It grew in size and authority as a result of an increased need for strict enforcement of conduct in a growing student body. By the early 1920s, student government rested in the hands of four organizations: Student Senate (executive body for all four year students), Women's Student Council, the Honor Council, and Adelphia.
In 1948, when a new constitution reorganized the Student Government into Legislative, Administrative, and Judicial branches, the Student Senate was placed within the Legislative. Its function was to "exert a governing influence on student conduct and activities, represent the interests of the student body before the faculty and the administration, supervise and determine the procedure of student elections, appoint committees, and make expenditures from a fund provided for it by the men of this college." With the creation of residence halls and area governments in the late 1960s, the role of the Student Senate was re-examined. The result was a larger and more formal student governing body with many committees handling such areas as budget and finance, services, elections, announcements, women's affairs, and other areas of student concern.
This collection consists of bound meeting minutes of the Student Senate secretary (1901-1948) and administrative materials (1909-1922, 1960s-early 1980s) including by-laws, constitutions, budget materials, unbound meeting minutes, committee records, correspondence, newsclippings and subject files. The early meeting minutes (1901-1948) document discussions and decisions relating to student conduct and discipline. Topics included traditional rope pull, hazing, social events, banquets, sports related issues and smoking on campus.
Also available are 15 boxes (18.75 lin. feet) of unprocessed administrative files, ca. 1950-1990 which are located off site; prior notice for access is required.
The undergraduate judicial system of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst is based on the Code of Student Conduct (CSC). The CSC serves as an umbrella document which covers any undergraduate student enrolled in or accepted for an academic program, or any student residing in University housing facilities. It incorporates and empowers other policies, which are enforced through procedures set up by the CSC. The University has always had standards of behavior for its community. In 1967 the first Code of Student Conduct of the modern era was approved. It addressed issues of safety and civility, academic honesty, financial obligations, and residence hall living. In the summer of 1986, major revisions were introduced to the Code of Student Conduct. Since that time, additional changes have occurred.
Included in the record are First Annnual Report to the Umass Student Government Association on the Office of the Attorney General (1980), policy acts and statements (1971), Judicial System Manuals (1971), report of the ad hoc Committee on Judicial Review (1971), an Overview of the Undergraduate Judicial System (1988) and newsclippings.
Discussions between the Dean of Students and the Student Senate led to the hiring of an attorney, Richard Howland, in September 1970 as general counsel to undergraduates to advise students without representing them in any litigation. In the mid-1970s, the students increased their financial support of the program, with appropriations from the Graduate Student Senate and the Student Government Association (Student Activities Tax), in order to expand the staff and allow attorneys to represent students in specific types of cases. In 1973, the Legal Services Office (LSO) was created to "provide counseling, advice, representation, and education to the student body of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst concerning all legal matters." In 1975, in response to student demands, the Trustees recognized the authority of the LSO to litigate on behalf of students in cases against the University. In 1986, the Trustees, acting upon recommendations of University administrators, revoked its recognition of the LSO's authority to represent students in cases against the University or in criminal cases.
After a number of years of dispute, the President and Chancellor reviewed the issue and in 1993 the Trustees passed a resolution that allowed student activities fees to continue to be used for LSO operations "provided that the office, which is supported by University funds, shall not engage in litigation either in court or before administrative agencies, against the Commonwealth or any of its agencies, subdivisions or instrumentalities including the University, or any municipality, or any officer, trustee, agent or employee of any of the foregoing for actions related to their official duties or responsibilities."
Collection consists of Legal Services Office board minutes (1979-1981), correspondence (1979-1983), The Students Rights Advocate (1989-1991,1997), typescript history of LSO by Robert Gage (1975), brochures and flyers, and newsclippings.
The Women's Student Government Association, initially the Women's Student Council, was formed in 1919 as the self-governing body for women students. All female students were considered ipso facto members of the Association, and if enrolled for a minimum of one year, eligible to vote. Its purpose was to establish guidelines for student conduct and "make each member feel responsibility to herself, to the Association, and to the college; and to give each girl a conception of citizenship which will hold not only in [the] college community but in the greater group after college."
Materials in the collection consist of a Women's Student Council history extracted from the 1931 "Index", correspondence to and from the Women's Judiciary Board (1955), Handbooks for Women (1929, 1936-1942), Centennial Focus on Women program (1963), policy for Award of Honor to Women Students (n.d) and newsclippings (1920, 1984). The handbook issued annually to female students by the WSGA included the constitution and by-laws of the Association; regulations governing residential housing and general personal conduct; and information about female students' clubs and organizations at the college, including sororities.
Formed in 1978 by the merging of the Student Organizing Project (SOP) and the Student Center for Educational Research (SCER), the Student Center for Educational Research and Advocacy (SCERA) is today the research and advocacy arm of the Undergraduate Student Senate. SCERA, consisting of students and professional staff, analyzes existing programs, deciphers student education issues and needs, and advocates to improve student life, work and study at the University. The center also seeks to provide students with the skills and resources to do their own research and analysis and to organize to bring about change.
Included in the collection are in-depth study reports (1975-1981) on such topics as student housing, governance, budget, course and teacher evaluation, student racism, buildings and spaces. Also represented are administrative files containing meeting minutes, correspondence (1977, 1979-1980), and newsclippings.
In 1965, the Graduate Student Senate was established to work with administration and faculty in making policy recommendations on issues such as student housing, parking, and cultural matters. In 1972, a Graduate Student Senate Task Force was organized to explore ways of strengthening the Senate as an accountable and influential body and increasing its involvement in initiating, funding, and running student-related services. In 1977, a stronger Graduate Student constitution was passed. In 1978, the Graduate Student Senate (GSS) lent their support for UMass graduate student employee unionization and collective bargaining. Since its inception, the GSS has maintained involvement with campus governance by securing graduate representation on search committees and other campus-wide committees and by offering informational seminars.
Consists of meeting minutes (1964-1989), constitutions (1965, 1977), Report of the Joint Commission on Campus Governance (1971), committee materials, organizing materials for unionization and collective bargaining of graduate student employees (1973-1980), membership cards and lists (1970's), newsletters (1969-1970's), Graduate Student Senate newsletters (The Graduate Voice [1983-1990] and The Voice), newsclippings, announcements, and other subject material.
Consists of constitutions, histories, committee minutes, memoranda, program guides, newsletters, newsclippings, flyers, and memorabilia of student-run media organizations including Black Mass Communications Project, Student Publications and Broadcast Board (1966, 1969), Soul TV, Union Video Center, UVC TV-Channel 19, WMUA (1948-2007), WOCH, WSUR (1988) and WSYL (1986).
This series consists of the collected records of individual general and special interest student groups from Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). Represented are clubs, associations, centers, and collectives.
In the fall of 1974 students on campus were sparked into action when then Vice Chancellor Gage sent a memo to senate Speaker Cindy McGrath in which the vice chancellor declared his own veto power over the Senate. The result was the first student town meeting at his campus, and increased attention on the possibility of students acting independently of the administration. A second occurrence in 1975 was to forever change student and administration relations. The state of Massachusetts and the University experienced a drastic budget crisis, which resulted in major cutbacks in the budget here on campus. Hundreds of teaching assistant and research assistant positions were eliminated during the summer of 1975. Outraged at these attacks on their livelihood and on the quality of education on campus, but powerless to combat them, a small group of graduate students began discussing an organization for graduate students. The Graduate Student Employees Organizing Committee (GSEOC) was created in the fall of 1975. Since that time a number of student organizations have been formed to respond to relevant issues on the Amherst campus.
This collection consists of the records of individual undergraduate and graduate student organizations, committees, unions, coalitions, and projects (authorized as bargaining agents for the student body) whose main purpose since the mid-1970s is to bring campus students together into unified groups for mutual support, advocacy, and in the case of the Graduate Employees Organization, collective bargaining. Materials include agreements, handbooks, proposals and responses, memos and correspondence, open letters, newsletters, announcements, brochures, posters, bumper stickers, flyers, songs and chants, and newsclippings.
Series consists of the following fine arts program groups: Roister Doisters (1910-1976), Distinguished Visitor's Program, Musical Clubs (1923, 1941-1942) and Arts and Music Committee (1963,1967).
The earliest student religious organization, at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, appears to have been established in 1868 as the College Christian Union. The object of this society was to gather moral and religious information of the world and to "promote the religious culture of its members." The next major organization represented is the YMCA (Young Men's Christian Association) (1891-1930s). The Newman Club was founded at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in 1929 and continues to serve students of the Catholic faith. In 1934 the Menorah Club was revived for Jewish students and later replaced by the B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation. The 1940s saw the establishment of the Student Christian Association, which served Protestant students on Campus. Since the 1960s many other student religious organizations have organized to serve the students at UMass Amherst.
This series consists of the records of individual religious groups at the College and University. The two collections best represented are the Christian Science Organization (1947-1973) and B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation (1955-1991).
The Christian Science Organization (CSO) was established at the Massachusetts State College in the spring of 1947 "to unite the Christian Scientists at the College in the understanding of the true meaning of Christian Science." The organization at UMass was disbanded in 1989; however, in 1991, students from the Five College consortium institutions (Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, and UMass) established a joint Christian Science Organization.
This series contains by-laws, biennial meeting minutes (1967), correspondence (1947-1967), treasurer's records (1965-1968), lecture committee records (1964-1972) and subject files such as World's Fair Activity (1965), Inter-Religious Activity (1964-1965), and "Christian Science Monitor" promotion (1962-1965).
As early as 1919, Jewish students organized a Menorah Society at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, for the purpose of furthering their intellectual and moral development. In the late 1930s it was replaced with the Menorah Club, whose goal was to fulfill the needs of Jewish students for the study of Jewish problems and the need of Jewish students for mutual acquaintance at the Massachusetts State College. In 1943, The University of Massachusetts Hillel Foundation, a branch of the national B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation, was established as an organization on campus. Hillel's primary mission is to coordinate and support group activities of a social, cultural, educational, and religious nature for Jewish students.
This collection documents the activities and nature of the foundation from its one-room beginnings to its campus-wide involvement and its later move into its present Hillel House. While this collection is important for understanding the growth and impact of Hillel as an organization, there is little about its internal operations. Included are correspondence, reports, scrapbooks, announcements and calendars, subject files, newsclippings, publications and videotapes. Continued accretions of subject files include: announcements, calendars, programs, memoranda, newsclippings, and newsletters.
The early 1960s saw a rise in the number of student social and political action groups at University of Massachusetts Amherst. Young Republicans, Americans for Freedom Club, Martin Luther King Jr. Social Action Council and Students' Party were representative of these early groups some of whose goals were to identify discontent, raise social consciousness, and effect policy change at the University.
This series consists of the collected records of student social action groups for the College and University. Two groups well represented are the Radical Student Union (1968-1989) and the People for a Socially Responsible University (1989-1990).
Renamed the Coalition for Environmental Action in 1974.
In 1989, People for a Socially Responsible University (PSRU), a social action group at UMass, formed from within the Radical Student Union organization. The goal of PSRU was to stop military research at the university that was tied to the U.S. Department of Defense. More broadly, PSRU sought to build a university that would play a leading role in the development of a "new society" that would "empower the oppressed and remove control from any oppressor." In 1990, when the Student Activities Office informed PSRU that they were not a legal student group, they moved their office off-campus to downtown Amherst.
This series consists of newsletters, newsclippings, and flyers that document some of the goals, local activities and broader interests of the People for a Socially Responsible University.
By a constitutional amendment in 1980, the former Revolutionary Student Brigade (established in the late 1960s), changed its name to the Radical Student Union (RSU). The RSU seeks to provide the University community the opportunity to discuss and act upon political issues from an alternative viewpoint. In the decades of the 1960s and 1970s the RSU was very active with information distribution and demonstrations both on and off campus. Some of the diverse issues it addressed during this period included: Seabrook, Amherst Nursing Home Strike, Martin Luther King Week, Opposition to the "Human Life" movement, and U.S. Involvement in El Salvador. Between 1985 and 1989 the R.S.U. published the newspaper "Critical Times", predecessor of the "Liberator" (1989, 1994). An attempt to rename the RSU the Alliance for Student Power occurred in 1994.
The collection comprises constitutions, meetings minutes and agenda, budgets and financial statements, correspondence, membership lists, press releases and articles, news clippings, student papers, published materials, brochures, posters, song-lyrics and related materials.
The series is arranged into three major groupings. The first, Protests and Demonstrations prior to 1977, reflects student unrest as early as 1867 and includes Civil Rights, Vietnam War and other issues of the 1970s, arranged chronologically. The second grouping, 1970 Vietnam Student Strike Files, are arranged into Subject Files, News Media and Student Letters/Audiotape. The third grouping, Protests and Demonstrations is alphabetically arranged.
Senior Honors Theses, now called the Capstone Project, are arranged chronologically by year and then alphabetically by author.
This record group contains materials that document alumni and alumni activities throughout the history of the Amherst campus. Included are annual reports, constitutions and by-laws, board and committee minutes, cash books and financial statements, correspondence, alumni directories, class lists, obituaries, biographies, bibliographies of alumni writings, photographs, alumni periodicals, brochures from alumni events, newsclippings, handbooks and manuals, reunion and dinner programs, scrapbooks, memorabilia and artifacts.
Formerly Alumni Affairs
The alumni files contain a variety of materials including minutes of class secretaries (1870s), class financial records, correspondence, biographical information, class lists, newsclippings, alumni publications, reunion materials and graduation programs. Included for some years are class histories, class day speeches, odes, poems, diaries, reminiscences, scrapbooks, and artifacts. Larger collections of student and alumni papers are designated by the call number FS.
The University of Massachusetts Foundation was incorporated in 1950 as a nonprofit organization "to promote the progress of the University by seeking and administering appropriate private gifts to meet those needs of the institution and its students, which are not met by public appropriation." Since its establishment, the foundation has been able to achieve many of its goals by offering financial aid for: academic scholarship, student activities, instruction, programs of research, fine arts activities, athletic programming, building programs and land acquisition. Today, the University of Massachusetts Foundation continues to grow and serve a great many people by fostering and promoting the growth, progress and general welfare of the University of Massachusetts.
Consists of annual reports, Board of Governor's minutes, long range plans, financial statements, correspondence, handbooks, newsletters, articles, newsclippings and related materials.
Formerly Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU)
Record Groups 100-176 are part of the University Photograph Collection
This collection consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white group and individual portraits, of presidents of the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1863-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007).
This collection consists of approximately 200 black and white print images, with some accompaning negatives, of group shots of faculty and staff. Represented in the group shots are such subjects as Faculty Wives, Phi Kappa Phi, and Metawampe Club.
This collection consists of approximately 2,300 black and white print images of faculty and staff, along with some other print formats, and many accompanying negatives.
This collection consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white and sepia tone individual and group portraits, of alumni and students from the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). The files for the 1950s to the present contain primarily images of convocation and commencement exercises and lack individual student portraits.
This collection consists of photographic prints, negatives, and postcards of campus buildings, facilities and grounds at the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). Also included are some early images of other University of Massachusetts campuses including UMass Boston and Worcester, and Ft. Devens (1946-1949) at Ayer, Massachusetts.
This Record Group consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white images of department activities at the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007) through time. Images of faculty and students (individual and group), workshops and seminars, special events, classroom interiors, building exteriors, landscapes, animals, laboratory equipment and mechanical machinery are included.
Proof sheets; organized by year and image number.
Includes audio tapes.
Includes audio tapes.
The meeting minutes and documents chronicle the decisions and concerns of the Board of Trustees. Information on personnel, policies, buildings, budget, academics, student activities and other subject areas are found in this series. Microfilm (16mm and 35mm) was produced for the minutes (1863-1967) and for selected Trustee Documents for the 1960s. Microfiche exists for the full board and committee meeting minutes (1863-1976). The microfiche is the preferred user copy. The microformed materials of the Agriculture Experiment, the Agriculture Extension, and the College of Agriculture's Holdworth Natural Resource Center are now held with Current Periodicals and Microfilms.
National Direct Student Loan Program, promissory notes
The files of Robert Campbell are held within this series.
Cite as: [Item description, RG#], UMass Amherst Records, Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries.