Special Collections & University Archives University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries

Mountain House (South Deerfield, Mass.)

Views from and of the Mountain House, summit of Sugar-Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield, Mass., ca.1865.
3 photographs (0.1 linear feet).
Call no.: PH 042

Mountain House, ca.1865
Mountain House, ca.1865

A popular tourist destination during the post-Civil War years, the Mountain House hotel was built on the summit of Sugar Loaf Mountain, in South Deerfield, Mass., by Granville Wardwell in 1864 on property owned by his father-in-law Dwight Jewett. Positioned near the southern end of the mountain, the hotel provided tourists with a stunning panoramic vista of the Connecticut River Valley.

This small collection consists of three scenic cartes de visite from a larger series featuring views from the Mountain House. The images include No. 6, a view of five persons perched on the southeast promontory of Sugar Loaf with a view to the northeast across the Connecticut River to Mt. Toby; No. 10, Mountain House with a group of nine men and women posed on the lawn with telescope and tripod; No. 18, view of barns at the southern base of Sugar Loaf Mountain.

Background on Mountain House

A popular tourist destination during the post-Civil War years, the Mountain House hotel was built on the summit of Sugar Loaf Mountain, in South Deerfield, Mass., by Granville Wardwell in 1864 on property owned by his father-in-law Dwight Jewett. Positioned near the southern end of the mountain, the hotel provided tourists with a stunning panoramic vista of the Connecticut River Valley.

Wardwell (1937-1920), a native of Vergennes, Vt., remained an hotelier into the early 1870s, later moving to Winchester, N.H.

Contents of Collection

This small collection consists of three scenic cartes de visite from a larger series featuring views from the Mountain House. The images include No. 6, a view of five persons perched on the southeast promontory of Sugar Loaf with a view to the northeast across the Connecticut River to Mt. Toby; No. 10, Mountain House with a group of nine men and women posed on the lawn with telescope and tripod; No. 18, view of barns at the southern base of Sugar Loaf Mountain.

dingbat for decoration
Inventory of Collection
Five persons perched on the southeast promontory of Sugar Loaf with a view to the northeast across the Connecticut River to Mt. Toby ca.1865 Carte de visite

On Verso: Views From and Of The Mountain House, Summit of Sugar-Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield, Mass. G. Wardwell, Proprietor. No. 6.”

<br />
Tourists atop southeast promontory of Sugar Loaf<br />
<br />
Tourists atop southeast promontory of Sugar Loaf<br />

Mountain House with nine men and women posed on the lawn, with telescope and tripod ca.1865 Carte de visite

On Verso: Views From and Of The Mountain House, Summit of Sugar-Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield, Mass. G. Wardwell, Proprietor. No. 10.”

Mountain House with nine men and women posed on the lawn, with telescope and tripod
Mountain House with nine men and women posed on the lawn, with telescope and tripod

Barns at the southern base of Sugar Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield. ca.1865 Carte de visite

On Verso: Views From and Of The Mountain House, Summit of Sugar-Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield, Mass. G. Wardwell, Proprietor. No. 18.”

<br />
Barns at the southern base of Sugar Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield<br />
<br />
Barns at the southern base of Sugar Loaf Mountain, South Deerfield<br />

dingbat for decoration
Provenance

Provenance unknown.

Processing Information

Processed by I. Eliot Wentworth, Feb. 2013.

Copyright and Use (More informationConnect to publication information)

Cite as: Mountain House Photograph Collection (PH 042). Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries.

Subjects
  • Mountain House (South Deerfield, Mass.)--Photographs
  • South Deerfield (Mass.) -- Pictorial works
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (Mass.)--Photographs
Contributors
  • Wardwell, Granville
Types of material
  • Photographs
Leave a Comment

 
Special Collections and University Archives logo