| Afro
American Studies Research Guide Contents |
|
|
|
|
Databases
& Periodical Indexes for Afro American Studies
The online databases
and periodical indexes below can help you search for full-text articles
or allow you to locate citation information for articles in Afro American
Studies. If you are not sure which database to choose, please contact
a reference librarian.
For library databases in all subjects, go to the database
locator.
Please note: Many
of our electronic resources have restricted access
from off-campus and are only available to UMass-Amherst students,
faculty or staff with a UMAccess account.
Tip:
Use the
Database Searching Log to keep track of
your searches and search strategies in different databases.
- Academic
Search Premier - Citations, abstracts and full text articles from
scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences,
humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences.
- African
American Biographical Database - Biographies of thousands
of African Americans assembled from biographical dictionaries and other
sources. Includes African American activists, business people, former
slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers,
church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes,
farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more -- both the famous and
the everyday person. Useful to an understanding of the African
American experience over the last two centuries.
- African
American Newspapers: The 19th Century - Starting with the Freedom’s
Journal in 1827 and continuing in chronological order with the monthly
addition of new text, this database plans to ultimately contain
the complete text of the major African American newspapers published
in the United States during the 19th century. Currently contains the
following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Coloured American,
The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman,
Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
This material was written by African Americans for African Americans.
- African
American Song
-
Audio database which documents African American music, including jazz,
blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, from the Document
Records label. Browse by category of music, region, genre, instrument,
artist, ensemble, and time period. A playlist option is available.
- America:
History and Life - Citation information and abstracts for journal
articles, dissertations and book reviews on United States and Canadian
history, from over 2,000 journals published since 1964.
- Arts
and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) - Citations and
some abstracts covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals,
as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over
6,800 major science and social science journals. Unique features include
cited references (lists of records cited by the documents found); citing
articles (lists of records that cite the documents found), and related
records (lists of records that share common references with the documents
found).
- Biography
Resource Center - Biographical entries compiled from several publications,
including the entire Marquis Who's Who series, plus some periodical
articles.
- Black
Studies Center
-
combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies:
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black
Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
IIBP provided indexing and abstracting of 150 African, American and
Caribbean periodicals, with full text of forty core journals. The Chicago
Defender was at one point the most widely-read black newspaper in the
country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.
- Black
Thought and Culture - Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and
interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest
times to 1975.
- Contemporary
Women's Issues - Citations, abstracts and full text access to over
200 domestic and international women's organizations, from a mix of
mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature and the alternative
press.
- Dissertation
Abstracts/ Digital Dissertations - Citations and abstracts of doctoral
and some maters theses, mostly completed in colleges and universities
of the United States and Canada. Full text access to UMass dissertations.
- Ethnic
Newswatch - Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals
of the contemporary (20th and 21st century) ethnic, minority and native
press. Search can be focussed by choosing "AFRICAN AMERICAN/ CARIBBEAN/
AFRICAN" in ethnic group of publication.
- Expanded
Academic Index - Articles from more than 1,500 scholarly journals
and general interest magazines in the humanities, social sciences and
general sciences, many in full text.
- Historical
Abstracts - Citations and abstracts for articles and book reviews
from over 2,000 journals published since 1954, on all aspects of world
history from 1450 to present (excluding the Untied States and Canada).
Publications are in over 50 languages; article titles and abstracts
are included in English translation.
- International
Index to Black Periodicals - Indexing and abstracting of 150 African,
American and Caribbean periodicals, with full text of forty core journals,
some dating back to the early 1900s. (Now within Black Studies Center,
above.)
- International
Index to Music Periodicals - Citations and abstracts from scholarly
and popular music periodicals. Current content from 327 international
music periodicals from over 20 countries, including retrospective coverage
from over 165 periodicals dating back as far as 1874.
- International
Political Science Abstracts - Citations and abstracts from approximately
900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international
relations, public administration, and public law.
- JSTOR
- Full-text collection of about 160 core scholarly journals in various
academic disciplines, including African American Studies, from their
first issues to between two and five years to the present.
- MLA
Bibliography - Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books,
book chapters and dissertations in the fields of literature, literary
theory, linguistics and folklore.
- Project
Muse - Full-text online collection of over 100 journals in the humanities,
social sciences and mathematics. Issues from 1996 to the present are
included.
- Social
Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) - Citations and abstracts
covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more
than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually
selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific
and technical journals. Unique features include cited references (lists
of records cited by the documents found); citing articles (lists of
records that cite the documents found), and related records (lists of
records that share common references with the documents found).
- Sociological
Abstracts- Citation information and abstract to journal articles
and books in sociology and related disciplines (anthropology, economics,
education, medicine, philosophy, social psychology, etc.) from 2,500
journals in 30 languages. The database also includes abstracts of sociological
conference papers, relevant dissertation listings, and citations to
book reviews.
|
 |