|
Anthropology
Research Guide Contents
|
|
|
|
|
Anthropology
Databases and Periodical Indexes
Databases
for Anthropology
| Area Studies Databases | All
Library Databases
|
Tips
- From off-campus
locations, an OIT
Computer Account is required to access licensed databases.
Databases that anyone may search - they are free sites - are identified
with an *
- Use the Database
Searching Log to keep track of your searches and search strategies.
- After you've
run a search, use the
button
(if the database has it) to retrieve articles.
- Use RefWorks
to manage your citations and create bibliographies.
|
Databases for Anthropology
Anthropology
Plus, 19th century to present
Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and
the Anthropological Index, of Royal Anthropological Institute from
the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries,
edited works, book chapters, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural,
physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology,
folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers
coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and
lesser-known journals. Citations are to materials in most European languages.
AnthroSource,
19th century to present
AnthroSource consists of the searchable full text of the 32 journals published
by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth
century.
Academic
Search Premier, 1975 to present
A multidisciplinary database with many anthropology journals. Citations,
abstracts and full text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals
relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological
sciences. Retrieval can be limited to peer reviewed academic titles.
*American
Anthropologist (Journal Archive)
A searchable database involving two summaries for each article published
by the American Anthropologist from 1888 to 2000. The summaries
are produced by undergraduate and graduate students throughout Canada
and the United States. For every article, there are two distinct summaries
written by two different students at two different institutions so readers
gain a "bifocal" view of that article’s themes. Offers basic and advanced
searching.
*Anthropological
Index Online (Royal Anthropological Institute), 1957 to present
Indexes articles in the journals of the Anthropology Library at the British
Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library).
The references from the late 1950's are few.
*Anthropology
Review Database ARD
"Fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological
publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia,
exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources."
America
History and Life (North American History), 1964 to present
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations and
book reviews published in over 2000 journals covering United States and
Canadian history (including especially historical archeology).
ATLA
Religion Database, 1949 to present
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database covers
the research literature of world religions. It contains citations to journals
representing all major religious faiths, denominations and language groups,
essays, and book reviews.
Biological
Abstracts, 1980 to present
Citations and abstracts for articles in life sciences journals worldwide.
*British
Archaeological Abstracts, 1965-1991
CAB
Direct , 1973 to present
Indexes books, articles, conference proceedings, annual reports, etc.
on agricultural literature in the broadest sense. Of particular interest
to anthropology is the indexing of materials on rural sociology, public
health, and development, especially in developing countries.
Contemporary
Women's Issues - Women's issues and criticism from mainstream
periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press.
Digital
Dissertations, 1861 to present
Citations and abstracts of doctoral and some maters theses, mostly completed
in colleges and universities of the United States and Canada. Full text
access to UMass dissertations.
eHRAF
Collection of Archaeology
Full text collection with descriptive information on selected archaeological
traditions from all parts of the world.
eHRAF
Collection of Ethnography, 7th Century to present
Full text collection and index to cross-cultural ethnographic research.
Ethnic
Newswatch, 1960 to present
A searchable collection of full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines
and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Most articles
are in English, but many from Latino periodicals are in Spanish.
Expanded
Academic Index ASAP, 1980 to present
References to articles in more than 1500 scholarly journals and general
interest magazines in the social sciences, humanities, and non-technical
sciences. Many articles are full-text. Useful especially to identify very
current publications in major academic journals and general magazines.
Includes book reviews. Retrieval can be limited to peer reviewed academic
titles.
Historical
Abstracts (the world except North America), 1950 to present
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations
published since 1950. The database indexes over 2000 journals covering
world history (except for the United States and Canada, for which see
America History and Life) from 1450 to the present. There is some
coverage of archeology, especially historical archeology.
International
Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Articles, with bibliographies, from experts on all aspects of the social
sciences. Extensive coverage of anthropology.
JSTOR,
1800s to between two and five years before most recent issue. No current
issues.
Full-text collection of core scholarly journals in various academic disciplines,
including Anthropology and related disciplines, from their first issues
to between two and five years before most recent issue. Includes Annual
Review of Anthropology, Biennial Review of Anthropology, Anthropology
Today, RAIN, Current Anthropology, Yearbook of Anthropology, Journal of
the Royal Anthropological Institute, Man, Journal of the Royal Anthropological
Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, Journal of the Anthropological
Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, Proceedings of the Royal Anthropological
Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, Hesperia, and World Archaeology.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe, 1980 (varies by publication) to present
A huge web-based full-text news and information service with date coverage
from 1980-present. Of the five sections, the most useful for anthropology
probably are: News (hundreds of newspapers from all over the world
in full text), Reference (biographical information, country profiles,
polls and surveys supplied by the Roper Public Opinion Organization, quotations,
state profiles, and the World Almanac), and Medical (full
text of a number of medical journals and medically related legal cases,
access to some of the Medline database, and a health news article database).
The other sections are: Business, and Legal.
Linguistics
Abstracts Online, 1981 to present
Abstracts of articles from around 300 major linguistics journals.
Medline,
1966 to present
Articles found in medical journals.
*National
Archeological Database
"Bibliographic inventory of approximately 240,000 reports on archeological
planning and investigation... This 'gray literature' represents a large
portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in
the U.S. " Also includes a variety of maps.
*NLM
Gateway (National Library of Medicine)
Oxford
English Dictionary Online
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the
last millennium.
*Population
Index, 1986-2000
The database contains 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published
in Population Index. Materials indexed include books, journal articles,
working papers, and other materials on population topics.
*PrimateLit,
1940-present
A bibliographic database for primatology. Includes all publication categories
(articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters,
etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction,
field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology,
pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology,
genetics and zoogeography).
Social
Sciences Index, 1983 to present
Citations to articles in over 500 English-language scholarly journals
in the fields of anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography,
policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.
Sociological
Abstracts, 1963 to present
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and books in sociology and
related disciplines (anthropology, economics, education, medicine, philosophy,
social psychology, etc.) from 2500 journals in 30 languages. Also included
are abstracts of sociological conference papers, relevant dissertation
listings, and citations to book reviews.
Web
of Science, 1945 to present
Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), the Science
Citation Index (SCI), and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index
(AHCI). The databases may be searched separately or together. They
provide citations, abstracts, and cited references from journal articles
from over 1,725 (SSCI), 5,700 (SCI), and (AHCI) journals. Good for
academic book reviews and for seeing who cited whom.
WorldCat
The combined catalogs of books, videos and other materials in most U.S.
libraries. Material not locally owned can often be borrowed through Interlibrary
Loan by clicking on UMLinks.
Area
Studies Databases
AllAfrica.com,
1997 to present
News stories from a full range of local newspapers from all over the African
continent.
Bibliography
of Asian Studies, 1971 to present
Indexes western language books, articles, and book chapters on all of
Asia in all subjects.
*Handbook
of Latin American Studies, 1936 to present
Citations and annotations to works published internationally on Latin
America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
HAPI
(Hispanic American Periodical Index), 1970 to present
Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original
literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social
science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Mexico,
Central and South America, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border
region, and Hispanics in the United States. The citations are primarily
to materials written in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, and German.
ISI
Emerging Markets, 1996 (varies by publication) to present
In-depth information on selected countries in Asia, Europe, and Latin
America, including legal and political information, current news, macroeconomic
statistics and forecasts, company profiles, corporate action reports,
industry reports. Most information is published in English as well as
the local language. These local languages are Russian, Polish, Czech,
Slovak, Hungarian, Turkish, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, German, French,
Latvian, Bulgaria, Romanian and Ukrainian.
Latin
America Database, 1986 to present
Includes over 24,000 full-text articles from their own news digests in
English, 1986- and to Latin American economic journals in Spanish, 1995-
. Emphasis is on economic and political affairs, but there is much of
interest to anthropologists.
SourceOECD,
1998 to present
Publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development,
an intergovernmental body representing 30 countries which works to develop
economic and social policies. SourceOECD includes thematic book collections,
periodicals, and statistical databases.
All
Library Databases
|
|