|
The UMass Amherst
Libraries provide state-of-the-art access to science scholarship from
the world's leading database publishers - including ScienceDirect
and Thomson
Scientific. Library
databases are licensed for on-campus access by all and remote access by
OIT Account
holders. For help with database research, visit or call the Reference
Desk (413-545-6741), or use the Ask
a Librarian email service.
Database
Research Strategy: For journal research on an
unfamiliar topic, start with Academic
Search Premier (8,600 multidisciplinary journals). For comprehensive
research in astronomy, search Inspec.
For non-journal research, try these databases. Biography
Resource Center provides astronomer biographies. Books24x7
provides software manuals. WorldCat
searches library holdings worldwide.
Academic
Search Premier
The Library's largest multidisciplinary journal database indexes 8,600
journal titles. Coverage: 1975 to
present. Key Content: Broad coverage
includes academic journals plus science magazines. Start here if you are
studying an astronomy topic for the first time.
ARI
Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References (ARIBIB).
Public domain astronomical bibliography of astronomy journal literature.
This database is the online version of Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts.
Coverage: 1969 to 2000 in reference
format. Older literature (1899 - 1968) is based on the printed bibliography
Astronomischer
Jahresbericht. Key Content: Astronomical
journal literature for historical research.
arXiv.org
E-Print Archive
Public domain archive and distribution server for research papers. Hosted
by Cornell University. Includes preprints in astrophysics, physics, mathematics,
and computer science. Coverage: April
1992 to present. Key Content: Forthcoming
journal articles in astronomy and astrophysics.
Biography
Resource Center
Comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people
from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines
and subject areas. Coverage: Varies
by publication. Key Content: Biographical
profiles of leading astronomers.
Books24x7
Full-text collection of information technology "Referenceware"
books from leading publishers including MIT Press, O'Reilly, QUE, Sams,
Sybex, and Wiley. Topics covered include networking, programming languages,
and desktop applications. Key Content: Computer
software manuals and handbooks.
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Physical properties for organic and inorganic compounds. IR correlation
charts. Data related to NMR and UV spectra. Coverage:
Current. Key Content: Properties of
interstellar molecules.
Digital
Dissertations
Comprehensive index to theses and dissertations from U.S. and Canadian
universities. Coverage: 1861 to present.
Key Content: References to dissertations
in astronomy and astrophysics. The first 24 pages of each dissertation
are provided in PDF format, from 1997 to present. UMass Amherst dissertations
are available in their entirety since 1997.
Education
Complete
Comprehensive index to journals in education - primarily secondary and
higher education. Coverage: 1986 to
present. Key Content: Current information
on university-level science education.
INSPEC
Comprehensive index
to to the literature of physics, astronomy, astrophysics, electrical engineering,
and computer science. Indexes 4,000 journals and 1,000 conferences.
Coverage: 1969 to present. Key
Content: Online equivalent of Physics
Abstracts, Astronomy
and Astrophysics Abstracts and Computer
and Control Abstracts.
NASA
Astrophysics Data System
Abstract database includes references from the NASA Scientific and Technical
Information Group, plus reference from journal and book publishers. Hosted
by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center
for Astrophysics. Coverage: 1975
to present, some earlier. Key Content:
Public domain access to technical literature in space science.
Science
Citation Index Expanded (Web
of Science)
Index to 8,000 peer reviewed science journals including all core journals
in astronomy and astrophysics. Coverage:
1945 to present. Key Content: Use
Science Citation Index to conduct citation research - to identify journal
articles that cite a known author or work.
SIMBAD
Astronomical Database
Coordinates, observational
data, and bibliographical references for 2,800,000 astronomical objects
including stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, novae and supernovae.
Excludes Solar System bodies. SIMBAD
Tutorial. Coverage: Released in
1996. Recently open for public access. Key Content:
Charts and images of celestial objects.
WorldCat
The WorldCat database
searches the combined holdings of 7,000 libraries in the US and Canada.
Coverage: Prehistory to the present.
Key Content: Library holdings worldwide.
|