|
BUSINESS
RESEARCH GUIDE
Business Database Collection
The UMass Library provide
online access to business intelligence from the world's leading database
publishers - including Standard & Poor's, Dun & Bradstreet, and
Euromonitor. For help with database selection, contact Mike
Davis, Business Librarian, jmdavis@library.umass.edu.
For more on database publishers, review Publisher
Profiles.
ABI/Inform
Dateline
Hard-to-find local and regional business news. Coverage:
Mid-1980s to present. Key Content: Business
information on local companies, industries, and markets.
ABI/Inform
Global
Articles from 2,000 business and management journals published
worldwide. Coverage:
1971 to present, plus 100 scholarly journals from the early 20th century
to present. Key Content: Scholarly business
journals. Title
List
ABI/Inform
Trade & Industry
Trade journals and industry newsletters. Coverage:
Late 1980s to present. Key Content: Comprehensive
industry news archive.
Academic
OneFile
Multidisciplinary journal database indexes journal and magazines in all
fields. Coverage: 1980 to present.
Key Content: Study business topics
from a multidisciplinary approach.
Academic
Search Premier
Multidisciplinary journal database indexes 8,600 journals in all fields.
Coverage: 1975 to present. Key
Content: Study business topics from a multidisciplinary approach.
Advertising
Red Books
Directory of national advertisers and advertising agencies.
Key Content: Identify company ad strategy by expenditures
and media. Profile ad agencies.
Alt-Press
Watch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent
presses. Coverage: Mid-1990s to present.
Key Content: Study business topics
from a left perspective.
American
Factfinder
U.S. Census Bureau demographic and economic data, including Census
of Population and Housing and the Economic Census of the United
States. Key Content: Demographic
and economic profiles of the United States.
Biography
Resource Center
Biographical essays, articles and profiles of 335,000 people from
throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject
areas. Key Content: Study current and
historic business leaders.
Books
24x7
Information technology reference books from leading publishers including
O'Reilly, QUE, Sams, Sybex, and Wiley. Books on networking, program languages,
desktop applications. Key Content: Computer
software manuals.
BuildingGreen
Suite
Directory of environmentally safe products, organized by product type
and manufacturer.
Business
Rankings Annual
Top 10 business rankings. Key Content: Company
rankings. Access: Part of the Business
& Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search.
Select "Rankings" from the drop-down menu.
Business
and Company Resource Center
Articles, company profiles and histories, investment reports,
market share rankings, industry surveys, and directory of association.
Coverage: 1980 to present. Key
Content: Integrated collection of business publications. Title
List
Business
Plans Handbook
Model business plans include a statement of purpose, executive summary,
business/industry description, market profile, product and production,
management/personnel, and projected balance sheet/income statement.
Business
Source Premier
Largest full-text collection of scholarly business and trade journals
in the world. Coverage: 1965 to present.
Key Content: 8,600 journals, market
and industry reports, country reports, SWOT analyses. Title
List
CAB
Direct
Citations to articles, books, proceedings and reports. Coverage:
1990 to present. Key Content: Focus on
international development in developing countries. Topics including leisure,
recreation and tourism development.
China
Data Online
From the China Data Center at the University of Michigan - the database
provides integrated historical, social and natural science data in a geographic
information system.
Chronicle
of Higher Education
Full-text of articles from the weekly Chronicle of Higher Education, 1995
to present.
Columbia
International Affairs Online
Publications on theory and research in international affairs - Including
working papers, research reports, proceedings, books, journals and policy
briefs. Key Content: Scholarly resources
from Columbia University Press.
CorpTech
Directory of Technology Companies
Directory of American technology manufacturers, public or private. Custom
indexing for product-level research. Key Content:
Locate companies that manufacture specific technology products.
CQ
Researcher Online
In-depth reports on political and social topics. Focus on hot topics in
the news. Coverage: 1991 to present. Key
Content: Use CQ Researcher to identify points of view and the
histories of controversial topics.
Dun
& Bradstreet's Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios
D&B ratios assess
a firm's strengths and weaknesses as compared to those of competing businesses
or an entire industry. Fourteen solvency, efficiency, and profitability
ratios are provided across seven asset ranges.
Dun
& Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database
Directory of 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian companies with sales
greater than $5 million or employee totals greater than 100. Search by
name, location, industry, or size. Key Content:
Identify employers, customers, or competitors.
EconLit
Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and reports
pertaining to economics and allied fields. Coverage:
1969 to present. Key Content: Study business
topics from an economics perspective. Title
List
Education
Complete
Articles from academic journals in the field of primary, secondary
and higher education. Coverage: 1986 to
present. Key Content: Information on undergraduate
and graduate business education. Title
List
EIU
Country Reports
Reports on the latest economic, political, and market conditions
in countries worldwide. Each report includes a 12-18 month country forecast.
Key Content: Business risk analysis for
international business development.
Encyclopedia
of American Industries
Reports on U.S., global and emerging industries.
Access: Part of the Business & Company Resource Center
(BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search. Select "Industry Overviews"
from the drop-down menu.
Encyclopedia
of Associations
Directory of international, national, and local trade associations. Access:
Part of Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC,
click Advanced Search. Select "Associations" from the drop-down menu.
Engineering
Village
Engineering Village hosts several databases - including Compendex,
Engineering
Index, Geobase and Inspec.
Key Content: Comprehensive access
to 5,000 engineering publications.
Europa
World Year Book
First published in 1926, Europa Year Book provides political and economic
information on 250 countries. Key Content:
Current information on national politics and government for all countries.
Expanded
Academic ASAP
Multidisciplinary journal database indexes 2,600 journals in all fields.
Coverage: 1980 to present. Key
Content: Study business topics from a multidisciplinary perspective.
FAITS:
Faulkner
Advisory on IT Studies
Technology reports on IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless
technology, data networking, convergence, security, enterprise systems,
internet, and technology vendors. Includes IT tutorials and standards.
Forrester
Research
Technology and market research reports. Focus on technology marketing
to consumers. Reports written for decision-makers. Key
Content: Current reports on any topic related to the Internet
and the world wide web.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library
Business encyclopedias, handbooks, directories and specialized reference
sources for multidisciplinary research.
General
BusinessFile ASAP
Articles from 1,000 business and trade journals. Includes company
profiles and investment reports. Coverage:
1980 to present. Key Content: Coverage
of trade journals and regional business publications. Title
List
GMID:
Global
Market Information Database
Data sets of demographic, economic and market statistics for 205 countries.
Includes consumer lifestyle indicators. Annual data from 1977 to present,
forecasted to 2015. Key Content: Analyze
consumer markets by country.
GuideStar
- The National Database of Nonprofit
Organizations
Financial profiles and descriptions of U.S. nonprofit organizations. Public
domain database with some fee-based resources. Key
Content: Data on nonprofit revenues, expenses, assets, and
liabilities from IRS Form 990.
Historical
New York Times
Images and text of 3.5 million New York Times pages. Includes
articles, advertisements, photographs, cartoons, and letters to the editor.
Access in PDF format. Coverage: 1851 -
1999. Key Content: Historical business
news.
Hoover's
Company Profiles
Brief reports on more than 13,500 public and private companies. Proprietary
portion of Hoover's website. Key Content:
Quick facts about major public and private companies.
Hospitality
& Tourism Complete
Index to 700 hospitality journals and magazines, 330 titles provided in
full-text. Coverage: Mid-1960s to
present. Key Content: Articles, reports,
and e-books for any line of hospitality or tourism research.
IBISWorld
United States
Reports on the past, current, and expected performance of every U.S. industry.
Key Content: Industry statistics,
market segments, major players, market share, success factors, and 5-year
performance forecasts.
International
Directory of Company Histories
Historical reports on the worlds' largest and most influential companies.
Access: Part of the Business &
Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search.
Select "Histories" from the drop-down menu.
International
Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia of the social and behavioral
sciences. Contains 4,000 signed articles and extensive primary source
listings. Key Content: Scholarly analysis
of any social science topic.
ISI
Emerging Markets
News, company and industry reports, macroeconomic data and forecasts
for 80 emerging market countries in Africa, Asia, Middle East, Latin America,
and Central/Eastern Europe. Coverage: 1995
to present. Title
List
Journal
Citation Reports
JCR measures the research influence of 1,700 social science journals and
5,900 science journals. Data measures of influence include impact factor,
immediacy index, article counts, and cited half-life. JCR
Research Guide
Labor
& Employment Law Library
Court cases and legal news on all areas of labor law. Key
Content: Fair employment practices, employment rights, Americans
with disabilities, wages & hours, labor-management relations, collective
bargaining, labor arbitration.
LexisNexis
Academic
U.S. And foreign daily newspapers, trade publications, newsletters,
news wires, radio/TV news transcripts, company financial reports, state
and federal laws, and court decisions. Coverage:
1990s to present. Title
List
LexisNexis
Statistical
Citations to statistical reports from federal, state and local
governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies. Key
Content: Comprehensive index to all government statistical
publications worldwide.
Market
Share Reporter
Compilation of market share data on companies, products, and services.
Access: Part of the Business &
Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search.
Select "Rankings" from the drop-down menu.
MarketResearch.com
Academic
Market reports on business services, consumer goods, food and beverage,
heavy industry, life sciences, technology and media. Coverage:
1996 to present. Key Content: Comprehensive
reports on consumer and business markets.
Massachusetts
Newsstand
Full text coverage of the several Massachusetts daily newspapers and weekly
business newspapers. Key Content: Study
state and regional business and economic topics.
Mergent
Online
Reports on
11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. Includes SEC
filings, annual reports and 15 years of company financials. Coverage:
SEC filings: 1993 to present. annual reports: 1997 to present.
Mintel
Reports
U.S. And international
reports. Focus on retailing, healthcare, technology, and tourism. Key
Content: Market drivers, size, trends, segments, supply structure,
advertising, retail distribution, consumer profile, and market forecast.
NBER
Working Papers
Economic working papers for the National Bureau of Economic Research -
a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting
a greater understanding of how the economy works.
PAIS
International
Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, government
documents, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage:
1970 to present. Key Content. Study business
policy issues from a political science perspective.
Proquest
Dissertations
Index to dissertations from U.S. And Canadian colleges and universities.
Coverage: 1861 to present. Note:
The ABI/Inform
database provides the full-text of all business dissertations in PDF format.
ReferenceUSA
Directory of 12 million U.S. commercial and nonprofit organizations.
Search and sort by multiple criteria. Link to parent or subsidiary. Key
Content: Locate businesses of any size or type anywhere in
the United States.
RIA
Checkpoint
Accounting and tax database contains federal tax codes, regulations, cases,
congressional reports, IRS rulings, international tax material, tax treaties,
state/local tax rates. Includes United States Tax Reporter.
Sage
Journals Online. 485 journals in business, humanities, social sciences,
science, technology and medicine - from scholarly journal publisher Sage
Publications. 1999-present.
SBRnet
- Sports
Business Research Network
Sporting goods news, market reports and data. Includes information relating
to licensing, finance, retailing, sports sponsorship, and broadcasting.
Key Content: Data on sports participation
and consumer purchases.
SPORTDiscus
Index to journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference
proceedings. Covers all aspects of sports, physical fitness, and sport
management. Key Content: Articles about
the management of sport organizations.
Social
Sciences Citation Index
SSCI indexes 1,700 peer-reviewed social science journals. Coverage:
1956 to present. Key Content: Provides
a unique research strategy - the ability to locate scholarly articles
that cite a known author or work. Title
List
SourceOECD
Publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Coverage: 1998 to present. Some data back
to the 1960s. Key Content: Thematic book
collections, periodicals, and statistical databases.
SRDS
Advertising Source Online
Directory of national
advertisers - includes contact information and ad rates. Media covered:
radio, television, cable, business and consumer magazines, weekly and
daily newspapers. Also includes the Direct Marketing List Source.
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
S&P publications including Industry Surveys, Bond Guide, Corporation
Records, Dividend Record, Mutual Fund Reports, Register of Corporations,
and Stock Reports. Key Content:
S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports.
STAT-USA
U.S. Department of Commerce exporting reports, guides, and data
from fifteen U.S. agencies. Includes National Trade Data Bank,
Country Commercial Guides, overseas market reports and country
macroeconomic statistics.
Wall
Street Journal (current)
Wall Street Journal
articles, from 1984 to present. Key Content:
Business analysis from the world's leading financial newspaper.
Wall
Street Journal Archive
Full text and full image of 1.4 million Wall Street Journal pages.
All photographs and advertisements are included. Coverage:
1889 to 1985. Key Content:
Historic business news.
Westlaw
Campus Research
Federal/state case law, USCA, CFR, Federal Register, state statutes and
administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports
(ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series. Also, law journals and daily newspapers.
WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than
9,000 member libraries. Provides bibliographic and library holdings information.
Key Content: Use WorldCat to verify book and
journal holdings.
World
Development Indicators
World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. Nine hundred
indicators organized into 6 sections. Data are shown for 152 economies
with populations of more than 1 million.
|