UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
August 28th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Chemistry Research GuidePrintable Version
Chemistry Research Guide Contents
 

Chemistry Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in chemistry. Available on Library computers to all. Available off-campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

Suggested chemistry databases and periodical indexes. (See the Database Locator for the Library's complete database list. Or, at the Database Locator select "Sciences and Engineering" under "Finding databases by subject.")

Chemistry Databases

Beilstein
Compendium of data on over 7 million organic compounds, including structures, physical properties, reactions, and literature citations.
Beilstein is only accessible on a computer with a UMass Amherst Internet address. A direct connection to an OIT account will provide off-campus users with a UMass Amherst Internet address. To search the database, you must first install Commander, the CrossFire client server, on a computer with a UMass Amherst IP address.

SciFinder Scholar
Complete Chemical Abstracts and some full-text articles. Includes other Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields.
Due to license restrictions, SciFinder Scholar must be accessed through a computer with a UMass Amherst IP address, which means on-campus or by direct connection to your OIT account. SciFinder Scholar also requires that you download proprietary software.

Other Databases

Web of Science
Consists of three indexes to scholarly journals from 1945 to the present which can be searched by topic, author, source, address, or cited reference. Use the Science Citation Index for chemistry.

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?