UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
October 7th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Classics Research GuidePrintable Version
Classics Research Guide Contents
 

Classics Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in classics. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

Suggested classics databases and periodical indexes. (See Database Locator for the Library's complete database list.)

Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals.

Amica Library (Art Museum Image Consortium)
Digital documentation of approximately 100,000 works of art from 36 museums, representing objects from all cultures and time periods. Includes paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, photographs, textiles, decorative art, and utilitarian objects.

L'Annee Philologique
Indexing and abstracts for articles and books in Classics. When searching for ancient authors, use the Latin form of the name. Covers 1949-present.

Art Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to articles from international art publications. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in those publications.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Covers achaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, history, religion, language, and theater.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles relating to architecture, city planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history.

Linguistics Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics.

Philosopher's Index
Citations and abstracts for philosophy journal articles and books published in Western languages.

Project Muse
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, published by Johns Hopkins University Press; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword. 

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?