|
Communication
Research Guide Contents
|
|
|
|
|
Communication Research Guide Databases
Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in communication. Off-campus access is limited to UMass Amherst students, faculty, and staff with an OIT account.
Suggested Communication databases and periodical indexes. (See the Database Locator for the Library's full database list.)
| Databases for Scholarly Literature | | Databases for Newspapers and Popular Magazines |
Databases for Scholarly Literature
Communication
- ComAbstracts
Indexes and summarizes major articles, reports, and books concerned with communication theory, interpersonal communication, mass communication, organization communication, small group communication, speech, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, journalism, public opinion, public relations, radio and television. 1984-
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including scholarly journals in communication, interpersonal communication, mass media, and journalism journals, plus articles on communication published in the journals of other disciplines, and mass media trade journals. Some coverage back to 1920's-
- Communication Studies: Sage Fulltext Collection
Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by Sage and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Related Disciplines and Interdisciplinary
- ABI/Inform
Bibliographic citations and abstracts of articles appearing in 1600 leading business and management journals published worldwide. Over 700 titles are delivered in full text. Strong coverage of academic journals. 1971-
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education,physical, and biological sciences. 1975-
- Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Also includes the Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesuarus, links to the BBC and New York Times for current news, a world atlas, and a quotation dictionary.
- Digital Dissertations
Bibliographic citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses completed at primarily American and Canadian colleges and universities since 1861. Includes full text of the first 24 pages of most recent (1997- ) dissertations and full text of recent UMass Amherst dissertations. To borrow theses and dissertations from other institutions, place a request through Interlibrary Loan . 1861-
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences. 1980-
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Citations to articles which discuss or reprint tests and measures in the social sciences and various health fields. 1985-
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Citations to articles from social science and humanities journals in English and Spanish. 1970-
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry. 1920-.
- Left Index
Citations to articles in scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals with a leftist perspective, covering areas such as labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. 1982-
- Legaltrac
Citations to articles from law reviews and law-related journals. 1980-
- Marcive
Catalog of United States government publications. 1967-
- MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations relating to literature, literary theory, film, and cultural studies. 1963-
- PAIS International
Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages. 1970-
- Project Muse
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword. 1996-
- PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. 1887-
- Web of Science
Covers almost all English-language scholarly journals. Provides citations, abstracts, and lists of works cited. Social sciences journals are covered since 1956.
[Back to top]
Databases for Newspapers and Popular Magazines
- AltPress Watch
Several hundred U.S. alternative news weeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement. 1995-
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Articles are in English or Spanish. 1960-
- General Reference Center Gold
Magazine articles, 1986-.
Historical New York Times Entire New York Times, searchable, in image files. 1851-1999.
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Full-text articles from tens of thousands of periodicals, including: business and medical periodicals; international, national and college newspapers; law reviews; state and federal case law; and statutory law. Date ranges vary for individual publications.
- Readers' Guide Abstracts
Index to articles in popular magazines. 1983-
- Wall Street Journal (1982- )
Wall Street Journal Retrospective (1889-1988) Entire newspaper, searchable, in image files.
Comments and suggestions toElizabeth B. Fitzpatrick ebf@library.umass.edu
[Back to top] |
|