Keeping an eye on Asia
over the Internet
Virtual Libraries
- Asian
Studies
WWW Virtual Library (Australia National University)
- Th is should be your starting point for tracking down web-based
resources
on Asia. The various virtual libraries are maintained by experts in the
field from around the world. See also subsections by format, region,
and
down to individual countries. For example:
- Internet
Guide
for China Studies
- SARAI
(South
Asian Resource Access on the Internet)
- Central Eurasian Studies
World
Wide
- Sponsored by the Harvard Program on Central Asia and the Caucasus.
- Frank Hoffman's Korean Studies Page
- Hoffman's site remains one of the best for finding information on
Korea..
- Larry
Stockton:
Japan Links
- I like this site! I can find virtually any Japan-related site I
need here.
- Voice of the
Shuttle
- Huge academic web site devoted to the study of the Humanities.
There are
subpages devoted to regions, but these listings are basically covered
in
the Asian Studies WWW-VL, so its value lies in the Humanities
information.
Selected Subject Guides
- AnthroGlobe
Bibliographies
- Wide range of bibliographies compiled on subjects related to
Anthropology,
many of which focus on Asia.
- The Environment in Asia
- Sponsored by Asian Environmental Trading, it calls itself "A
Comprehensive
Information and Networking Ser vice on Environmental News, Policy,
Markets,
Key Players and Sources in Asia-Pacific."
- INCORE:
Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity
- A joint initiative of the Univers ity of Ulster and the United
Nations
University. Information about ethnic conflicts around the world and
links
to internet resources.
- DemoNetAsia
- DemoNetAsia is a collaborative network of population research
institutes
in Asia. It was set up at a training workshop on "Advanced Use of
Internet
for Population Research" organised by the United Nations at ESCAP
in Bangkok in December 2000.
Online Journals & Magazines
Register
of Asian Studies E-Journals (ANU WWW-VL)
Online Newspapers
- Newspapers,
Asia
- Use this site to find newspapers available online from all over
Asia. There
really isn't any need to bookmark individual newspapers since this list
is so easy to use. Nevertheless, here are some of the big names:
Asahi
Newspaper
(Tokyo, Japan)
People's Daily
(Beijing,
China)
International Herald Tribune
Korea Herald
(Seoul, Korea)
New York
Times: Asia Pacific
South China Morning Post (Hong
Kong)
Yomiuri
Newspaper (Tokyo,
Japan)
LEXIS-NEXIS
This link takes you to the guided search page.
LEXIS-NEXIS
provides brilliant English language coverage on Asia, and goes back
almost
20 years.
Step 1. Select World News
Step 2. Select Asia/Pacific News Sources
Step 3. Select your search terms
Step 4. You will likely want to adjust your dates.
Governmental Pages
It is easy to use Yahoo
- Regional - Countries list as a starting point. Here are some
specific
pages you can examine.
Embassies in the U.S.
Government Pages
Travel Information
Here is a nice starting place. Yahoo!
Travel Destinations: Asia Each site has maps, basic info., and
links
supplied by the Lonely Planet. Here are some specific sites to look at.
Facts and Figures
Online Indexes to Periodical Articles
- Bibliography
of Asian Studies (AAS)
- This is intended to replace the annual print volume that was many
years
behind schedule. The BAS indexes books, articles, festschriften, and
book
reviews from Western language sources. When the finished version is
complete
and available it should be the first place to look when beginning a
research
project in Asian Studies. Umass has a subscription.
- PAIS
- Public affairs, economics, sociology. This is a good database to
use for
Asian Studies.
Associations & Organizations
- Five College Center for
East Asian
Studies
- Start here for K-14 related teaching materials and support
located in New
England. This site includes information on programs, resources, and
institutes.
- Asian Educational Media
Service
(at U. of Illinois)
- a clearinghouse of information on educational media. Includes a
resource
database, lending library, reviews by scholars, and links to other
sites.
- AskAsia
- Sponsored by the Asia Society, this is part of the "Ask ..."
contingent.
You can submit questions and get help from experts for your research
needs.
See also the pages for Educators.
-
- Association for Asian
Studies
- Start here for information on conferences, grants,
publications, and people
in the field of Asian Studies. Check out the links pages for the most
up-to-date
links for Asian Studies.
- H-Net Asian Pacific
Network
- H-Net has been developed as a way for Historians to communicate
with each
other. There are now a number of H-(something) email disc ussions
groups,
including several that are Asian-related.
-
first compiled by Sharon
Domieron May 31, 1998
last updated: August 2005