UMass Amherst  
Libraries
catalogdatabasese-journalsservicesabout
Home > Research by Subject > UMass East Asian Collection > Pathfinders to Specific Topics for East Asian Studies
Translation Resources for Japanese Studies
compiled by Sharon Domier
August 2000, updated August 2005
for corrections/comments, please contact me at: sdomier@library.umass.edu

Essential Readings

ALTA Guides to Literary Translation
American Literary Translators Association. ALTA Guides to Literary Translation: Breaking into Print. n.d. Online. Available: http://www.utdallas.edu/research/cts/ALTA/guides.htm.18 August 2000.
This is a wonderful beginner's guide to the process of getting a literary translation published.It covers basic questions such as how to get started, how to find out who holds the copyright to the item you wish to translate for publication, etc.

A Handbook for Literary Translators
PEN American Center, Translation Committee. A Handbook for Literary Translators. 4th ed. New York : PEN American Center, 1999. Online. Available:  http://www.pen.org/translation/handbook1999.html. 18 August 2000
    The Handbook, published by the PEN American Center Translation Committee,  is available online as HTLM or PDF files. It includes copyright issues for translations, sample contracts, and contactinformation. Consider this handbook a sequel to the ALTA guides.
Practical Guide to Publishing in Japan
Publishers Association for Cultural Exchange (PACE), Japan. Practical Guide to Publishing in Japan. n.d. Online. Available: http://www.pace.or.jp/english/practical%20guide/practical%202000%20contents.htm 9 December 2001.
    Finally, the practical information that I was seeking, from names and addresses to clear advice on how to buy, sell, or translate books in Japan.
Translation Review
Journal published by the ALTA. Available: UM/Univ Lib Per P306.A1T722
Japanese Book News
    Journal published by the Japan Foundation. Available online as PDF documents.
Japanese Literature Today
    Journal published by the Japan P.E.N. Club.
Available: SC/Neil Periodicals/2 per PL700 .J32  and   AC/Main PL700 .J32
Subject Headings Used in the Library Catalog:
Literature -- Translations and Translating
Translations -- Study and Teaching
 

Style Guides

Monumenta Nipponica Style Sheet. Rev. Jan. 1999. Online. Available: http://monumenta.cc.sophia.ac.jp/MN_Style.html.  18 August 2000.
The MN Style Sheet is written specifically for contributors to the journal. Based on The Chicago Manual of Style and incorporating Japanese specific style adaptations, the MN Style Sheet provides an excellent guidebook for incorporating Japanese text and terms into academic writing.


Japan Style Sheet: The SWET Guide for Writers, Editors and Translators. Rev. ed. Berkeley: Stone Bridge Press, 1998.
The Japan Style Sheet a general style guide is much less academic in nature and more focussed on writing about Japan in English. It is a good guide for undergraduate students, who need to know about word division, capitalization, and other issues.


Morita, Yoko, ed.  Japanese Patent Translation Handbook. ATA Japanese Language Division, <citation incomplete>
see page for more information.
 

Copyright Issues/Contacts

CRIC - Japan Copyright  Research and Information Centre
http://www.cric.or.jp/cric_e/
See in particular "What is Copyright?: Copyright for Beginners" available: http://www.cric.or.jp/cric_e/beginner/index.html
JBPA -- Japan Book Publishers Association 
http://www.jbpa.or.jp/member/frame.htm
JBPA is a voluntary organization formed to promote cooperation about book publishers. The membership list is a very handy tool for verifying publishers' romanization and contact information to enquire about permissions.


Aozora 

http://www.aozora.gr.jp/

Aozora is a Japanese equivalent to Project Gutenberg (public domain literature). Volunteers scan or type in the text of literary works whose copyright has expired.  Besides serving as an excellent source for Japanese texts, there is an up to date page listing all of the authors with expired copyright status.
 
Dead Writers Association 
http://www.jca.ax.apc.org/~earthian/aozora/dead.html

Listing by death year.
 

Professional Organizations for Translators

ALTA -- American Literary Translators Association
http://www.literarytranslators.org/

Located at the Center for Translation Studies, University of Texas.
 
ATA JLD -- American Translators Association Japanese Language Division
http://www.ata-divisions.org/JLD/

The Japanese Language Division currently has 407 members. It issued its own directory, sponsors panels at the ATA annual meetings, and issues both a printed newsletter JLD Times  and will have open email mailing list.  The Division has also published the Japanese Patent Translation Handbook.
 
JAT -- Japan Association of Translators 
http://www.jat.org/

JAT was established in 1985 as a forum for the exchange of information by professional translators. There are currently 400 members.  The JAT website includes resources for technical translation.  Much of the information is only available to subscribing members (5000 yen or $50), but there is an open email mailing list: honyaku
 
JTA -- Japan Translation Association
    http://www.jta-net.or.jp/
JTF -- Japan Translation Federation 
http://www.jtf.jp/

Unlike JAT, JTF offers not only individual but also corporate and supporting memberships. It issues regular newsletters, journals (Nihon Honyaku Janaru), sponsors annual conferences and certification examinations.
 
SWET -- Society of Writers, Editors and Translators, Tokyo
http://www.swet.jp/

SWET is, as it says, a Tokyo-based group of people involved in wrting, editing and translating. SWET has recently revised its Japan Style Sheet (see style guides above) and has also published monographs on translation such as Wordcraft.
Memberships to SWET costs 5000 yen.  There is also an open email mailing list: SWET-L
 

Competitions

The International Translation Competition in Shizuoka
http://www1.sphere.ne.jp/shizuoka/Translate/index-e.html

Conferences

IJET -- International Japanese English Translation Conference
    http://www.jat.org/ijet/
Sponsored by JAT, this conference began in 1990. 

ALTA -- American Literary Translators Association Conference
    2005 conference will be held in Montreal, Canada Nov. 2-5.



See also Finding Japanese Literature in Translation


Copyright @ 1998 University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
                 Produced and maintained by the UMass Amherst Libraries, comments to: Sharon Domier.  This is an official page of the University of Massachusetts Amherst Campus.  Updated: Sept. 2005