|
Education
Research Guide
Databases and Periodical Indexes
Sample Education Databases
(for citation, abstract and some full text searching):
For a list of all education
databases, go to: Database
Locator for Education.
Key Education Databases:
Education
Complete Contains
references to articles from 550 periodicals in the field of primary, secondary
and higher education. A portion of the articles are provided in full-text.
ERIC
Citations, abstracts and some full text for education journal articles
(EJ references) and reports (ED references). ED reports are located on
microfiche in the Du Bois Library Microforms Room and many will be full
text from this database. Contains citations not found in other databases
for education. Same content as in the free ERIC site listed below, but
perhaps in a friendlier interface for searching.
Free
ERIC Site
A centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database
of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October
1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004),
previously available through fee-based services only, will be available
for free.
Kraus
Curriculum Development Library Citations
to curriculum guides, frameworks and standards published by education
authorities at the state, county and municipal level, with some full text.
(For microform ed. of most documents see Microfiche 553.)
Other Databases Important
in Education Searching
Anthropology
Plus Citations to
journal articles, books, and book chapters relating to archaeology, anthropology
(biological and physical, social and cultural), and linguistics.
Children's
Literature Comprehensive Database
A catalog of hundreds of thousands of children's books, searchable by
genre, age group, subject and more. Many listings contain full-text reviews.
Government/statistical
databases
PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book
chapters, and dissertations.
PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book
chapters, and dissertations.
Sociological
Abstracts Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and
related [anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology] journals;
includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and conference
papers.
Interdisciplinary Databases
including Relevant Educational Material
Academic
Search Premiere Citations, abstracts and full text articles from scholarly
and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities,
education, physical, and biological sciences.
Digital
Dissertations U.S. dissertations [first 24 pages viewable online]
College
Source Online Course catalogs from the various colleges and universities.
Expanded
Academic Index Articles/citations from interdisciplinary scholarly
journals and general interest magazines.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social
sciences, published within the last five years.
Social
Science Citation Index Covers
anthropology, education, political science, history, public health, industrial
relations, social issues, information science & library science, social
work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban
studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
Please note: Many
of our electronic resources have restricted access from off-campus and
are only available to UMass Amherst students, faculty or staff with
an OIT account.
Electronic Journals In Education:
E-journal
page for education
E-Journal
Locator -- Type in a journal title to see if the journal title
is contained in any of our library subscriptions.
|