Library Course Guide for
Higher Education
Introduction
This guide is arranged in the order that one might work
through the research process. However, if you would like to go to a particular
area, choose from the alphabetical grouping below.
| Books | Citation
Styles | Databases | Internet
Resources
| Journals, Periodicals | Library
Help & Contacts | Locating Library Materials
|
Other Library Materials | Reference
Materials | Research Process |
Reference Materials
Locate background information on your topic by using
the Library Catalog. You
can do a search and restrict the search to reference materials:
Bibliographies -- A few
- American Higher Education: a Guide to Reference
Sources Ref Z 5815 .U5 O44 1993
- Education for Older Adult Learning: a Selected,
Annotated Ref Z 5814 A24 G74 1993
- Bibliography Higher Education: a Bibliographic
Handbook (2 vols.) Ref Z 5814 .U7 H531
Encyclopedias -- A few
[see also additional books in this reference area]
- Encyclopedia of Education Information
Ref LB 1028 E563 1997/1998
- Encyclopedia of Higher Education
(4 vols.) Ref LB 15 .E49 1992
- International Encyclopedia of
Education (12 vols.) Ref LB 15 .I569 1994
- International Higher Education
Ref LB 15 .I59 1991
Please note: The "Ref"
before the call number indicates an item in the Reference Collection.
Books
Search for books in the Library
Catalog.
- Search by Subject to
locate books in a particular area. For example: Affirmative Action;
Education Higher; Minorities Education Higher United States; Higher
Education and State; Universities and Colleges
Tip: After you have entered a search Limit
the search and select from the options.
- It is also possible to search by keyword
to combine various terms. For example: higher and policy - to retrieve
any records containing the words higher (as in higher education) and
policy. student affairs (higher or universit*) - to retrieve
records about student affairs in universities or institutions of higher
education)
- Note:
By adding * after part of a word the system will retrieve all words
beginning with the word you type, i.e. Teach* retrieves Teach, Teacher,
Teachers, Teaching.
- Books in Education usually begin with a call number
L and will be found on floor 20.
- Other Options for Searching for Books:
TOP
Databases
Locate citations, abstracts and/or full text of journal
articles, magazine articles, newspapers, dissertations, government
documents, and other information sources in your subject.
Please note: In some of our databases you may see the UMLinks
button -
. Clicking on this button will take you directly to the full text of
your article, if available, or to other options for finding the article
if not available online. For more information, see Frequently
Asked Questions about UMLinks.
Examples:
Print Indexes
- Higher Education Abstracts Ref LB 2300 C65
- Education Index Ref Index Table Z5813 E25
Journals, Periodicals Specific to
This Subject Area
The Library offers many journals in digital
format. For a listing, see the E-Journal
Locator (a link is always available at the top of the page.)
For an Expanded List of Journals see: http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/highereduc/journals.html
A selection of scholarly or academic journals follows:
- Black Issues in Higher Education Per LC 2781
B455
- Campus Trends Per LA 227.3 .C335
- Higher Education and National Affairs Per
LB 2300 .H5
- Higher Education Review Per L11 .C77
- The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Per LC 2781 .J68
- The Journal of Continuing Higher Education
Per LC 5201 .J68
- The Journal of Higher Education Per L11 .J78
- Planning for Higher Education Per LB 2300
.P7
Please note: The "Per" before the call number indicates an item
is a periodical/journal.
TOP
Locating Materials within the
Libraries
After you have the citation
for your material (from a database, library catalog etc.) find the
call number. If not available in the database or index you are
using go to the Library Catalog.
- Choose title
and type the name of the journal title, book or other material in
the box that appears.
- If your title appears write down the call number
given and location (UM/Main - W.E.B. Du Bois, UM/Sciences - Integrated
Sciences & Engineering Library, Special Collections etc.).
- Consult the Call
Number chart to identify the floor for your material.
If this library doesn't own the material you want, try
searching for an item from the Four
College Catalog, or fill out an Interlibrary
Loan Request Form with the appropriate citation information. Staff
will attempt to locate and bring the material here for you to use.
Internet Resources
Please note: Keep in mind when you are researching information
on the Web that anyone can publish a web page. Read about the advantages
and disadvantages of the "Free Web" and evaluate the information
you find.
{Note for content providers:Add links you have in your subject
research guide or other useful links.}
TOP
The Research Process (an introduction)
Citation Styles
See Using
Citation Styles for examples and links to standard style formats.
Library Help & Contacts
Updated
for Higher Education January 2005
Library guide by Lori S. Mestre
http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/highereduc/guide.html
|