| Language,
Literacy & Culture Research Guide |
|
|
|
|
Language/Literacy/Culture
Databases and Periodical Indexes
Note:
See also the Multicultural/Social
Justice Education Database List
For a list of all education databases go to: Database
Locator for Education
Recommended Education
Databases to Start With:
Databases Specific to Language
and Literacy (for citation, abstract and some full text searching):
If the database does not include full text information, then check the
Library Catalog for the
call number to a print copy or the E-Journal
locator for the title of the journal located in a database.
- Anthropology
Plus Excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in
addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late
19th century to the present).
- Communication
and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including
core journals in communication, interpersonal communication, mass media,
and journalism journals, plus articles on communication published in
the journals of other disciplines.
- Communication
Abstracts Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary
professional literature of the communication(s) field.
- EHRAF
Collection of Ethnography The Human Area Relations File indexes
thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and
dissertations. Its indexing allows researchers to trace particular social
features across cultures.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch
(Ethnic
News Presses) Searchable in Spanish or English.
-
-
HAPI
Hispanic American Periodicals Index.
- Linguistics
Abstracts Online Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly
journals of linguistics.
- MLA
International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography on InfoTrac
provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations to
journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1963 to the present
in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics,
literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
- Oxford
English Dictionary Online version of the irreplaceable OED, for
word definitions, usage, and etymologies.
- Oxford
Reference Online Full text entries from over 100 Oxford University
Press subject dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.
- Sociological
Abstracts Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and
related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology, sociolinguistics)
journals; includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and
conference papers.
Additional Education-Related
Databases to Search:
- Expanded
Academic Index Articles/citations from interdisciplinary scholarly
journals and general interest magazines.
- Kraus
Curriculum Development Library Curricula, frameworks, and standards.
- Lexis/Nexis
Academic Full text articles from tens of thousands of periodicals,
including business and medical periodicals; international, national
and college newspapers; law reviews; state and federal case law; and
statutory law.
- PsycArticles
The APA Full-Text Article Database contains the full text of articles
from APA journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation)
journals, most from 1988 to the present.PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books,
book chapters, and dissertations.
- ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social
sciences, published within the last five years.
- Social
Science Citation Index
Please note:
Many of our electronic resources have restricted access from off-campus
and are only available to UMass-Amherst students, faculty or staff with
an OIT account.
Other Internet Language/Literacy
Databases
ERIC/CLL
Databases includes links to over 10 databases (statistical, assessment,
testing, directories, immersion programs, resources...)
Free ERIC database search
site:
ERIC
http://www.eric.ed.gov/
Electronic Journals In Education:
|
|