Multicultural/Social
Justice
Education Research Guide |
|
|
|
|
Multicultural/Social
Justice Education Databases and Periodical Indexes
Sample Education
Databases (for citation, abstract and some full text searching):
If the database does not include full text information, then check the
Library Catalog for the
call number to a print copy or the E-Journal
locator for the title of the journal located in a database.
For a list of all education
databases go to: Database
Locator for Education and also see the Government
Information Database List for statistical databases including education/minority
group information.
General
Databases that Can be Searched Using Multicultural/Social Justice Topics
- Academic
Search Premiere Searching across subject areas-- much is
full text.
- America:
History and Life For citations to articles, chapters and books from
Canada and America 1492 to present.
- Anthropology
Plus Excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in
addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late
19th century to the present.
- Black
Thought and Culture Collection of monographs, essays, articles,
speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community
from 1700s to 1975.
- Digital
Dissertations U.S. dissertations (first 24 pages viewable online).
- Education
Complete
Searches educational journals and periodicals, some full text.
- EHRAF
Collection of Ethnography The Human Area Relations File indexes
thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and
dissertations. Its indexing allows researchers to trace particular social
features across cultures.
- ERIC
The premier database for searching educational journals and documents.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch
(Ethnic
News Presses) Searchable in Spanish or English.
- Expanded
Academic Index -Articles/citations from interdisciplinary scholarly
journals and general interest magazines.
- Historical
Abstracts For citations to articles, chapters and books from around
the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
- Kraus
Curriculum Development Library Curricula, frameworks, and standards.
- Lexis/Nexis
Academic Law, Business, with full text newspapers. Can also choose
Non English News or World News.
- Multicultural
Education Abstracts Available through Proquest's Education Complete.
- NACSIS
ELS- Japan Scholarly full text journals from Japan and NACSIS-IR
(Japan). 47 databases from Japanese scholarly organizations, mostly
directory or citational in nature.
- PsycArticles
The APA Full-Text Article Database contains the full text of articles
from APA journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation)
journals, most from 1988 to the present).
- PsycInfo(Psychology
Database 1872 to current.
- Social
Science Citation Index Covering anthropology, political science,history,
public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science&
library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance
abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
- Sociological
Abstracts Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and
related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology) journals;
includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and conference
papers.

Latino/Latin
American Databases
-
-
-
HAPI
Hispanic American Periodicals Index.
-
Info
LatinoAmerica 1988 - present. A compilation of news stories
from 1,500 leading international (mostly non-us media) newspapers,
journals, news magazines, newsletters, television & radio broadcasts,
conference proceedings, and print media.
-
Gender
Databases
-
-
Gender
Watch Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender
across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
- Women
Writers Project Online versions of literary works by women writers,
mostly 19th century.
Please
note: Many of our electronic resources have restricted access from
off-campus and are only available to UMass-Amherst students, faculty
or staff with an OIT account.
Free
ERIC database search sites: ERIC
http://www.eric.ed.gov/
|
|