|
Library Course Guide for Multicultural
and Social Justice Education
Introduction
This guide is arranged in the order that one might work through the research
process. However, if you would like to go to a particular area, choose
from the alphabetical grouping below.
Books | Citation
Styles | Databases | Internet
Resources | Journals, Periodicals | Library
Help & Contacts | Locating Library Materials
|Other Library Materials | Reference
Materials | Research Process
Reference Materials
Locate background information on your topic by using the Library
Catalog. You can do a search and restrict the search to reference
materials:
Please note: The "ReF" before the call number indicates
an item in the Reference Collection on the Main Floor of the W.E.B. Du
Bois Library.
Subject Headings in Catalog: http://www.library.umass.edu/cgi-bin/aka/babel.cgi?dokma=http://umlibr.library.umass.edu
Pluralism (Social sciences) -- United States; Multiculturalism -- United
States; Ethnology -- United States Minorities; Race Relations; United
States -- Ethnic relations; United States -- Race relations
I. General
- Civil rights in the United States Ref E184.A1 C47 2000 + 2 volumes
- Contemporary Social Issues: A bibliographic series Ref Z 7164 S66
C65 (for example:)
no. 24 The Feminist Movement
no. 25 The Multicultural Education Debate
no. 32 The African American Woman: Social and Economic Conditions
- The Education of Poor and Minority Children Ref Z 5814 E68 W44
- Education Journals & Serials Ref Z 5813 C64 1988
- Encyclopedia of Adult Development Ref BF 724.5 E53 1993
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American politics Ref E184.A1 E574
2000 2 volumes
- Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism Ref E 184 A1 E58 1994 8 volumes
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America Ref E184.A1 G14 1995
2 volumes
- Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education Ref LC 1099.3 .H35
1995+
- Racism in the United States: a comprehensive classified bibliography
Ref Z 1361 E4 R34 1990
- Sage Race Relations Abstracts Ref HT 1501.S3 (1975-1989)
II. Afro-American
Subject Headings: African Americans; African Americans Biography;
African Americans History; African American Women; Blacks Biography; Blacks
History etc.
- The African-American atlas : Black history and culture-- an illustrated
reference Ref E185 .A79 1998
- Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American
experience Ref DT14 .A37435 1999
- Black Heroes of the 20th century Ref E185.96 .B5337 1997
- Black Women in America Ref E 185.86 B542 1993 (2 vols.)
- Challenging the Civil Rights Establishment: Ref E 185.615 G663
1993
- Distinguished African American political and governmental leaders
Ref E185.61 .H359 1999
- Great Negroes, past and present Ref E185.96 .A4 1981 +
- Notable Black American women Ref E185.96 .N68 1996 +
- Profiles of a New Black Vanguard Contributions of Black Women to
America Ref E 185.86 C585 1982 (2 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights Ref E 185.61 E54
1992
III. Feminism/Women's Studies
Subject Headings in Library Catalog: Women; Women United States;
- The book of women's firsts : break-through achievements of almost
1,000 American women Ref CT3260 .R428 1992
- Great lives from history. American women series Ref HQ1412 .G74
1995 5 volumes
- Handbook of American women's history Ref HQ1410 .H36 2000 +
- Statistical Handbook on Women in America Ref HQ 1420 S73 1991
- WAC Stats: The facts about women Ref HQ 1421 W33 1993
- Women Studies Abstracts Ref Z 7961 W6 (index tables)
- Women's Issues: an annotated bibliography Ref Z 7961 .M85 1989
and Ref Z 7963 .F44 C63 1987
- Women's Movements of the World Ref HQ 1883 W63 1988
- Women's studies encyclopedia Ref HQ1115 .W645 1999 3 volumes
IV. Latinos
Subject Headings in the Library Catalog: Hispanic Americans
- A biographical handbook of Hispanics and United States film Ref
PN1995.9.H47 K46 1997 +
- Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics Ref E184.A1 E574
2000 + 2 volumes
- The Hispanic 100 : a ranking of the Latino men and women who have
most influenced American
thought and culture Ref E169.1 .N77 1995
- The Hispanic American almanac : a reference work on Hispanics in
the United States
Ref E184.S75 H557 1997 +
- Hispanics in Hollywood : an encyclopedia of film and television
Ref PN1995.9.H47 R49 1994 +
- The Latino encyclopedia Ref E184.S75 L357 1996 6 volumes
V. Asian Americans
Subject Headings in the Library Catalog: Asian Americans; Asian
Americans Biography; Asian Americans History...
- The Asian-American almanac : a reference work on Asians in the United
States Ref E184.O6 A824 1995 +
- Notable Asian Americans Ref E184.O6 N67 1995
- The Asian American encyclopedia Ref E184.O6 A827 1995 6 volumes
VI. Native Americans
Subject Headings in the Library Catalog: Indians of North America;
Indians of North America Biography; Indians of North America History...
- A to Z of Native American women Ref E98.W8 S65 1998
- American Indian quotations Ref PN6081.4 .A43 1996
- Atlas of the North American Indian Ref E77 .W195 2000 +
- Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics Ref E184.A1 E574
2000 + 2 volumes
- Encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction Ref
E98.R3 H73 2000 +
- The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes Ref E77 .G15 1998
+ 4 volumes
- Macmillan encyclopedia of Native American tribes Ref E76.2 .J63
1999 +
- Native American history : a chronology of the vast achievements
of a culture and their links to world
events Ref E77 .N56 1996
- Native Americans : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples
Ref E77 .P89 1998 + 2 volumes
- Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopedia Ref E76.2
.N36 1994 +
- Notable Native Americans Ref E89 .N67 1995 +
- Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian Ref E76.2 .R4 1995
VII. Biracial Groups
Subject Heading in the Online Catalog: Racially Mixed People
VIII. Elderly Adults
Subject Headings: Aged
- Aging Ref HQ1061 .A42453 2000 2 volumes
- Developments and research on aging: an international handbook Ref
HQ 1061 D48 1993
- The encyclopedia of aging : a comprehensive resource in gerontology
and geriatrics Ref HQ1061 .E53 2001 2 volumes
- The graying of America : an encyclopedia of aging, health, mind,
and behavior Ref HQ1064.U5 K39 2001
- Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans Ref HQ 1064 U5 S695 1994
IX. Sexuality
Subject Headings: Bisexuals; Homosexuality; Gay Men;
Gays; Lesbians;
- Cassell's queer companion : a dictionary of lesbian and gay life
and culture Ref HQ76.25 .S74 1995
- Completely queer : the Gay and Lesbian encyclopedia Ref HQ75 .H63
1999
- The gay 100 : a ranking of the most influential gay men and lesbians,
past and present Ref HQ75.2 .R87 1995
- Gay and Lesbian Stats: a pocket guide of facts and figures Ref
HQ 76.3 U5 S59 199
- Gay histories and cultures : an encyclopedia Ref HQ75.13 .G37 2000
-
Human Sexuality: an encyclopedia Ref HQ 9 H846 1994
-
International Directory of Gay and Lesbian Periodicals
Ref HQ 76.25 M35 1987
-
International Handbook on Gender Roles Ref HQ 1075
I58 1993
-
Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia Ref
HQ75.5 .L4395 2000
-
Lesbian Sources: a bibliography of periodical articles... Ref
Z5866 .L44 G37 1993
-
Sexuality and the law: an encyclopedia of major legal
cases Ref KF 932.5 .A7 L46 1993
-
St. James Press gay & lesbian almanac Ref HQ76.3.U5
S75 1998 +
Books
Search for books in the Library
Catalog.
Subject Headings in Catalog: http://www.library.umass.edu/cgi-bin/aka/babel.cgi?dokma=http://umlibr.library.umass.edu
Pluralism (Social sciences) -- United States; Multiculturalism -- United
States; Ethnology -- United States Minorities; Race Relations; United
States -- Ethnic relations; United States -- Race relations
TOP
Databases
Locate citations, abstracts and/or full text of journal
articles, magazine articles, newspapers, dissertations, government
documents, and other information sources in your subject.
For an extensive list broken down by category see: http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/multicultural/databses.html
Places to get started:
- Academic
Search Premiere Searching across subject areas-- much is
full text.
- Education
Complete
Searches educational journals and periodicals, some full text.
- EHRAF Collection of
Ethnography The Human Area Relations File indexes thousands of ethnographies
originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing
allows researchers to trace particular social features across cultures.
-
-
Gender
Watch Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender
across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Multicultural
Education Abstracts Available through Proquest's Education Complete.
- Sociological
Abstracts Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and
related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology) journals;
includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and conference
papers.
Please note: In some of our databases you may see
the UMLinks button -
. Clicking on this button will take you directly to the full text of your
article, if available, or to other options for finding the article if
not available online. For more information, see Frequently
Asked Questions about UMLinks.
Journals, Periodicals
Specific to This Subject Area
The Library offers many journals in digital format. For a listing,
see the E-Journal Locator
(a link is always available at the top of the page.) Please note:
The "Per" before the call number indicates an item is a periodical/journal.
A selection of scholarly or academic journals follows:
-
Cultural survival quarterly Per GN357.N48
- European journal of cultural studies. Per GN357.E87
-
Identities : global studies in culture and power.
Per GN495.4.I34
- International journal of cultural studies Per HM101.I583
- Journal of ethnic and migration studies Per HN381.N45
-
Journal of multicultural counseling and development
Per LC3701.J68
- Media, culture & society Per P87.M445
- Multicultural perspectives: an official publication of the National
Association for Multicultural Education Per LC1099.M844
- MultiCultural review : dedicated to a better understanding of ethnic,
racial, and religious diversity Per Z711.8.J68
- Race & class DuBois Per HT1501.R25
- Race, ethnicity and education Per LC3701.R32
- Rasy i narody HT1501.R35
- Social identities. Per GN495.4.S63
- Theory, culture & society Per HM1.T53
For a list of Online
Multicultural/Social Justice Education Journals (http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/multicultural/ejournals.html)
See also Language/Literacy
and Culture Journal List
(http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/language/journals.html)
TOP
Locating Materials
within the Libraries
After you have the citation
for your material (from a database, library catalog etc.) find the
call number. If not available in the database or index you are
using go to the Library Catalog.
- Choose title
and type the name of the journal title, book or other material in
the box that appears.
- If your title appears write down the call number given and location
(UM/Main - W.E.B. Du Bois, UM/Sciences - Integrated Sciences &
Engineering Library, Special Collections etc.).
- Consult the Call
Number chart to identify the floor for your material.
If this library doesn't own the material you want, try searching
for an item from the Four College
Catalog, or fill out an Interlibrary
Loan Request Form with the appropriate citation information. Staff
will attempt to locate and bring the material here for you to use.
Internet Resources
Please note: Keep in mind when you are researching information
on the Web that anyone can publish a web page. Read about the advantages
and disadvantages of the "Free Web" and evaluate the information
you find.
TOP
The Research Process
(an introduction)
-
Citation
Linker - If you have an article title or author, a journal title
or ISSN, and a date for a source, this tool will help you locate it.
-
RefWorks
Citation Manager -Collect, store, and organize citations from
books, articles, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically
converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies.
Citation Styles
See Using
Citation Styles for examples and links to standard style formats.
Library Help & Contacts
{Note for content providers: Modify or specify these links
as necessary}
|