Educational
Psychology/
School Counseling
Research Guide |
|
|
|
Library Course Guide for
Educational Psychology
Introduction
This guide is arranged in the order that one might
work through the research process. However, if you would like to go to
a particular area, choose from the alphabetical grouping below.
| Books | Citation
Styles | Databases | Internet
Resources | Journals, Periodicals
| Library Help & Contacts | Locating
Library Materials || Reference Materials
| Research Process
Reference Materials
Locate background information on your topic
by using the Library Catalog.
You can do a search and restrict the search to reference materials:
There are numerous reference materials in the fields of
education and psychology, such as specialized encyclopedias, handbooks,
bibliographies, test catalogs etc. Ask at the reference desk for assistance
in locating these.
Some sample reference books on this topic (located on the
Main floor of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library):
-
Handbook of educational psychology Ref
LB1051 .H2354 1996 +
- The handbook of school psychology Ref LB1051 .H2356 1999
- Historical encyclopedia of school psychology Ref LB1027.55
.H57 1996
-
Psychology of education : major themes
Ref LB1051 .P7292774 2000 4 volumes
-
Sociology of education : major themes
Ref LC191 .S6622 2000
Please note: The "Ref" before the call number
indicates an item in the Reference Collection.
Books
Search for books in the Library
Catalog ( http://www.library.umass.edu/cgi-bin/aka/babel.cgi?dokma=http://umlibr.library.umass.edu ).
Books in Education usually have a call number beginning
with L and books in Psychology usually have a call number beginning with
BF. Both can be found on the 20th floor. Here are some sample subjects
Other options for
finding books:
TOP
Databases
Locate citations, abstracts and/or full
text of journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, dissertations,
government documents, and other information sources in your subject.
Please note: In some of our databases you may see
the UMLinks button -
. Clicking on this button will take you directly to the full text of
your article, if available, or to other options for finding the article
if not available online. For more information, see Frequently
Asked Questions about UMLinks.
Examples:
- Academic
Search Premiere Searching across subject areas-- much is
full text.
- Digital
Dissertations U.S. dissertations (first 24 pages viewable online).
- Education
Complete
Searches educational journals and periodicals, some full text.
- ERIC
The premier database for searching educational journals and documents.
- Expanded
Academic Index Articles/citations from interdisciplinary scholarly
journals and general interest magazines.
- Kraus
Curriculum Development Library Curricula, frameworks, and standards.
- PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books,
book chapters, and dissertations.
- ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the
social sciences, published within the last five years.
- Social
Science Citation Index
- Sociological
Abstracts Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology
and related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology)
journals; includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations
and conference papers.
Journals, Periodicals Specific
to This Subject Area
The Library offers many journals in digital
format. For a listing, see the E-Journal
Locator (a link is always available at the top of the page.) A selection
of scholarly or academic journals follows:
- The British journal of educational psychology Per LB1051.A2B7
- Contemporary educational psychology Per LB1051.C678
- Counseling and human development Per LB1027.5.F6
- The Counseling psychologist Per BF637.C6C64
- Education & treatment of children Per L11.E24
- Educational psychologist Per LB1051.E35
- Journal of counseling psychology Per BF637.C6J6
- Journal of educational psychology Per LB1051.A2J6
- The journal of humanistic counseling, education and
development Per LB1715.S79
- Journal of multicultural counseling and development
Per LC3701.J68
- Measurement and evaluation in counseling and development
Per LB1027.5.M4
- Professional school counseling Per LB1027.5.P76
- Psychology and education Per BF1.P845
- Psychology in the schools Per LB1101.P75
- School psychology quarterly Per LB 1027.55 P76
- School psychology review Per LB1051.S373
See also subject heading
Psychology Periodicals
in the Online Library
Catalog
Some E-Journal Titles Subscribed
to by the Library
TOP
Locating Materials within the
Libraries
After you have the citation
for your material (from a database, library catalog etc.) find the
call number. If not available in the database or index you are
using go to the Library Catalog.
- Choose title
and type the name of the journal title, book or other material in
the box that appears.
- If your title appears write down the call number
given and location (UM/Main - W.E.B. Du Bois, UM/Sciences - Integrated
Sciences & Engineering Library, Special Collections etc.).
- Consult the Call
Number chart to identify the floor for your material.
If this library doesn't own the material you want,
try searching for an item from the Four
College Catalog, or fill out an Interlibrary
Loan Request Form with the appropriate citation information. Staff
will attempt to locate and bring the material here for you to use.
TOP
Internet Resources
Please note:
Keep in mind when you are researching information on the Web that anyone
can publish a web page. Read about the advantages
and disadvantages of the "Free Web" and evaluate the information
you find.
The Research Process (an introduction)
Citation Styles
See Using
Citation Styles for examples and links to standard style formats.
Library Help & Contacts
Library guide by lori.mestre@library.umass.edu
http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/education/psych/guide.html
|
|