UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
May 16th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Research by Subject > Geosciences Research GuidePrintable Version
Geosciences Research Guide Contents
 

Geosciences Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in geosciences. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

 

Suggested geosciences databases and periodical indexes follow. (See the Database Locator for the Library's complete database list.)

  

Environment Index
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals. Time period: 1972 to the present.

 

GeoRef
Citations to books, periodical articles, dissertations, maps, and reports relating to geological sciences. Time period: geology of North America from 1785 to the present and geology of the world from 1933 to the present.

 

Ingenta Tables of Contents Search
Tables of contents of 27,000 scholarly journals, with links to full-text article when available. Time period: generally the last 3 to 5 years.

 

LexisNexis Environmental

Articles from general, scholarly and trade periodicals on all aspects of the environment, plus environmental law and regulations. Some coverage as far back as 1972.

 

Oceanic Abstracts
Abstracts and citations to journal articles on geology, earth resources, geophysics, and geochemistry of the ocean. Time period: 1981 to the present.

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Bibliographic citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses completed at primarily American and Canadian colleges and universities since 1861. Includes full-text of the first 24 pages of most recent (1997- ) dissertations and full-text of UMass Amherst dissertations. To borrow theses and dissertations from other institutions, place a request through Interlibrary Loan or purchase dissertations directly through this database.

 

Science.gov 

A site that organizes access to agriculture, computer, health, energy and other scientific information from U.S. government agencies.

Science Dirhttp://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journals/ect
Scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences. Many full-text. TIme period: the last 5 years.

 

Web of Science
Indexes scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Time period: 1945 to the present.

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?