UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
May 16th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Research by Subject > Government Information GuidePrintable Version
Government Information Research Guide Contents
 

Government Information Research Guide
Databases

Ask a Librarian for guidance to locate a full-text government documents or information databases.

For access to a wide variety of other online government information resources, go to the Government Documents Collection home page.

Almost all government databases are available to off campus users. Databases that the library subscribes to are available on Library computers to all. They are available off-campus to UMass students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account ; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

.Suggested Government Information databases and periodical indexes:

| Federal | | Massachusetts | | Local |

FEDERAL

Access to Archival Databases (AAD) (National Archives and Records Administration (NARA))
Access to over 50 million historical electronic records organized in over 350 databases created by some 20 federal agencies.

American Factfinder (Bureau of the Census)
1990 and 2000 census data for U.S., states, and communities.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Archival materials from Library of Congress related to the history and culture of the U.S., including pictures, pamphlets and recordings.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Government Printing Office)
Catalog records of U.S. Government information products from 1994 to the present.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite  (Congressional Quarterly, Inc.)
Full text reference books related to the federal government.  Titles are Congress and the Nation, Historic Document Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and the Washington Information Directory.  Available on campus, or
off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an OIT account; enter your OIT login and password when prompted.

CQ Researcher  (Congressional Quarterly, Inc.
Well-documented full text overviews of current issues, including bibliographies and chronologies. 1991-present.  Available on campus, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an OIT account; enter your OIT login and password when prompted.

FDLP Desktop (Federal Depository Library Program)
Assortment of hard-to-find government documents. Subjects include, but are not limited to, climate, atlases, energy, gray literature, Congress, the executive branch, federally funded research, and information vital to the democratic process.

Frequently-used sites related to Government Information (American Library Association/ Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT))
Search all levels of federal, state, local and international government information by subject or keyword.

GovEngine
Private meta-site that organizes access to federal, state, and local government information online.

GPO Access (Government Printing Office (GPO))
Provides free electronic access to a wealth of important federal government information products.

LexisNexis Statistical (UMass only) (Lexis/Nexis)
Citations and abstracts from 1973 to the present of statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies; includes statistical tables from the "Statistical Abstract of the United States", and abstract references from the" American Statistics Index", "Statistical Reference Index", and "Index to International Statistics."

Marcive Web DOCS (UMass only) (Marcive, Inc.)
Catalog of all U.S. government publications cataloged by GPO from 1976 to the present.

PAIS International Index (UMass only) (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages from 1970 to present.

Science.gov
Organizes access to agriculture, computer, health, energy, natural resources, the environment and other scientific information from U.S. government agencies.

THOMAS (Library of Congress)
Federal legislation: bills and amendments, legislative histories, hearings, roll call votes, Congressional Record, committee information.

USA.gov (an interagency initiative administered by the General Services Administration)
Official U.S. gateway to federal, state, local, tribal and international government information by topical and customer-focused links.

MASSACHUSETTS

Commonwealth Communities
Community profiles, with information on public schools, municipal finance, state legislators, employment, and state aid for 351 Massachusetts communities.

General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Information on state legislators, current legislation, laws, bill histories, committee, journals/calendars, and the state budget.

GovEngine
Private meta-site that organizes access to federal, state, and local government information online.
Includes sites on current issues, campaigns, news, partisan politics, education resources and more.

Massachusetts State Home Page
State services, information and facts, government agencies and the legislature, education, labor, business, health and more.

LOCAL

GovEngine
Private meta-site that organizes access to federal, state, and local government information online.

Index to Current Urban Documents (UMass only) (choose 'Index Only Subscribers')
Publications of municipalities and public or semi-public city agencies.

 

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?