UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
October 13th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Health Sciences Research GuidePrintable Version
Health Sciences Research Guide Contents
 

Databases and Periodical Indexes

Below you will find online databases and periodical indexes that can help you search for full-text articles or allow you to locate citations for articles on your topic. Please note: Many of our electronic resources have restricted access from off campus and are only available to UMass Amherst students, faculty or staff with an OIT computer account. Databases are open to all from computers in the Libraries.

Anthropological Literature
Citations to journal articles, books, and book chapters relating to archaeology, anthropology (biological and physical, social and cultural), and linguistics, published in most European languages. Time Period Covered: 1979-

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Citations to scholarly journals in archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television and film, history, religion, language, and theater. Time Period Covered: 1975-

CINAHL
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, books and reports relating to nursing and allied health fields. May be a better choice to use than either Medline or PubMed, in focusing on nursing literature. Time Period Covered: 1982-

ERIC
Citations and abstracts for education journal articles (EJ references) and reports (ED references). ED reports are located on microfiche in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library Microforms Room and from the E*subscribe database. Time Period Covered: 1967-

Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Citations, abstracts and full text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences. Time Period Covered: 1980-

General Reference Center Gold
Citations, full text magazine articles and entries from selected general reference publications. Time Period Covered: 1980-

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Citations to articles which discuss or reprint tests and measures in the social sciences and various health fields. Time Period Covered: 1985-

Health Reference Center
Citations, some full text journal articles and health-related pamphlets, and entries from selected reference publications relating to health and allied health. Time Period Covered: 1996-

Historical New York Times
Full text of the entire New York Times. Time Period Covered: 1851-1999. For later years search Lexis-Nexis.

Medline
Citations and abstracts for medical journal articles and reports. Time Period Covered:1966-

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Full-text information about and reviews of psychological and educational tests. Time Period Covered: 1940-

PAIS International
Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages. Time Period Covered: 1970-

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Time Period Covered: 1887-

Science Citation Index Expanded
Indexes to scholarly journal articles in agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology. Time Period Covered: 1945-

Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes to scholarly journals in anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry. Time Period Covered: 1956-

Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology) journals; includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and conference papers. Time Period Covered: 1963-

SPORTDiscus
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, reports and websites relating to sports medicine, sports psychology, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching and training, physical education, equipment, and recreation. Time Period Covered: 1988-

WorldCat
Combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries. Material not locally owned can often be borrowed. UMass Amherst faculty, staff and students holding a valid ID card are eligible to request items not owned by the UMass Amherst Libraries through our Interlibrary Loan Service

Unrestricted Databases (You do not need an OIT computer account for access.)

PubMed
Free site for access to the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles. Abstracts may be included. Time Period Covered: 1966-

Spaceline
Free searching of space life sciences journal articles in PubMed; information about books, book chapters, technical reports, and meeting papers in LOCATORplus; meeting abstracts and older journal article citations (pre-1966) in Gateway.

 

For comments or suggestions concerning this page, please contact: jlcraig@library.umass.edu
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?