UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
July 19th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Research by Subject > <Subject> Research GuidePrintable Version
Journalism Research Guide Contents
 

Journalism Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in journalism. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

Suggested journalism databases and periodical indexes follow. (See Database Locator for the Library's complete database list.)

Alt-PressWatch
Hundreds of U.S. alternative newspapers, covering issues such as the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement.

American Memory
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States, including 7 million digital items.

ComAbstracts

Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of the communications field.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and full-text articles from core journals in communication, interpersonal communication, mass media, and journalism.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Articles in English or Spanish.

GenderWatch
Reports and articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles.

Historical New York Times
The complete New York Times, including image files.

Left Index
Citations to articles in scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals with a leftist perspective, covering areas such as labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text articles from tens of thousands of publications, including business and medical periodicals; international, national, and college newspapers; law reviews; state and federal case law; and statutory law. Date ranges vary for individual publications.

LexisNexis Statistical
References to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present.

Massachusetts Newsstand
Searchable full text of several Massachusetts newspapers, including The Berkshire Eagle, Pittsfield, 2005 – current; Boston Globe in two sections, 1980 - 1996 and 1987-current; Boston Herald 1991 – current; BusinessWest Magazine, Chicopee 1992 – current; Haverill Gazette 1992 – 1997; New England Business Magazine, current; North Adams Transcript 2005 – current; Quincy Patriot Ledger 1991 – current; Plymouth County Business Review 1991 – current; Fitchburg Sentinel & Enterprise 2005 – current; New Bedford Standard Times 1992 -- 1997; Lowell Sun, Lowell, 2004 – current; Worcester Telegram & Gazette 1989 -- current. To search a single paper, click Browse Publications, then Show All Publications.

Wall Street Journal
Searchable full text of the financial paper of record, displayed as page images.

Wall Street Journal Archive
Searchable full text of the backfile of the financial paper of record, displayed as page images.


 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?