UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
August 22nd 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > <Subject> Research GuidePrintable Version
Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning Research Guide Contents
 

Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in journalism. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

Suggested landscape architecture and regional planning databases and periodical indexes follow. (See Database Locator for the Library's complete database list.)

Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences. Covers 1975-present.

Agricola
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, government documents, and theses relating to agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Covers 1970-present.

Alt-Press Watch
Several hundred U.S. alternative news weeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement. Covers 1995-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles relating to architecture, city planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Covers 1924-present.

BuildingGreen Suite 
Full access to BuildingGreen.com, a key source of information about improving the environmental performance, and reducing the adverse impacts of buildings. Includes articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) since 1992, product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.

CAB Abstracts
CAB (Commonwealth Agriculture Bureau) Abstracts provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, conference proceedings, and reports relating to agriculture, crop protection, forestry, the environment, biotechnology, agricultural economics, rural sociology and development, leisure, recreation and tourism, nutrition, public health, and veterinary medicine. Covers 1973-present.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of over 1,200 open access online journals published mostly by academic departments in universities around the world. Journals are grouped by broad subject catagories with more than 300 searchable at the article level.

Environmental Index
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals. Covers 1972-present.

GeoRef
Citations to books, periodical articles, dissertations, maps, and reports relating to geological sciences. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.

GovEngine
A private meta-site that organizes access to federal, state, and local government information online. Updated.

Index to Current Urban Documents
Publications of municipalities and public or semi-public city agencies.Covers 1997-present.

Left Index
Citations to articles in scholarly and nonscholarly periodicals with a leftist perspective, covering areas such as labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Covers 1982-present.

LexisNexis Environmental
Articles from general, scholarly and trade periodicals on all aspects of the environment, plus environmental law and regulations. Covers 1975-present.

LexisNexis Statistical
Citations and abstracts of statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies; includes references to statistical tables from The Statistical Abstract of the United States, American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics.

Urban Studies & Planning: Sage Fulltext Collection
Encompasses more than  2,500 full-text articles from 12 journals,  some going back as far as 37 years. Covers subjects such as Anthropology, Economic Development, Economics, Education, Environmental Science, Planning Pedagogy, Planning Practice, Planning Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Regional Science, Residential and Community Development, Social, Spatial, and Cultural Dynamics, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Culture, Urban Geography, Urban Policy, Urban Politics, and Welfare Economics.

Web of Science
Consists of three indexes:·Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. Covers 1945-present.

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?