Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in Latin American Studies. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.
Suggested Latin American Studies databases and periodical indexes follow. (See Database Locator for the Library's complete database list.)
Caribbean Abstracts 1989-
Contains abstracts in English of selected books and articles in the humanities and social sciences. Publications on Caribbean migrant communities outside the region are not included. The Caribbean includes all the islands of the Caribbean archipelago, as well as the mainland territories of Belize and the Guianas. Complements paper subscription to Caribbean Abtracts.
CLACSO Virtual Library
Containes thousands of full-text reports in Spanish and Portuguese from the network of CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) throughout Latin America and the Caribbean, concentrating on the social sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch 1960-
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Articles are in English or Spanish.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) 1936-
Citations and annotations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, social sciences, law and political science. Open Access. here is a List of Periodicals Covered in the HLAS.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970-
Citations to articles from social science and humanities journals in English, Spanish, and other languages, relating to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, social sciences, education, and Latino affairs. Some links to full-text articles via JSTOR, etc. Here is a List of Publications Covered in HAPI.
Historical Abstracts 1954-
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present. From United States history, see America: History and Life. Many links to full-text articles via JSTOR, Project MUSE, etc. Here is a List of Publications Covered in Historical Abstracts.
History E-Book Project
Description: A growing collection of the most important English-language history books, as chosen by the American Council of Learned Societies. Full-text access to monographs in history.
Info-Latinoamerica 1988-
A compilation of full-text news stories from 1,500 leading international (mostly non-U.S. media) newspapers, journals, news magazines, newsletters, television & radio broadcasts, conference proceedings, and print media.
ISI Emerging Markets 1995-
Full-text news, company and industry reports, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts from 35 emerging market countries in Asia, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe. Excellent coverage of business and economics. Includes Latin American press services and newspaper articles.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals. The time period covered is from the earliest issue of each journal to between two and five years prior to the present.
The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
This databank "locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly one thousand studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela."
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents - LAPTOC Coverage varies widely.
LAPTOC is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. The principal objective of LAPTOC is to provide content access to journals not indexed by HAPI or the HLAS.
Latin American Public Opinion Project
LAPOP archives surveys of citizen views on social and political issues for Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguya, Peru, and Venezuela. These archives are at Vanderbilt University.
Latindex
"Latindex es producto de la cooperación de una red de instituciones que funcionan de manera coordinada para reunir y diseminar información bibliográfica sobre las publicaciones científicas seriadas producidas en la región."
LexisNexis Academic 1980-
Full-text articles from tens of thousands of periodicals, including: business and medical periodicals; international, national and college newspapers; law reviews; state and federal case law; and statutory law. Date ranges vary for individual publications. To access Spanish and Portuguese news sources, pull down the tab "Step One: Select a news category" to "Non English-Language News." Then pull down the tab "Step Two: Select a news source" to select the language of your choice.
MLA International Bibliography 1963-
Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations, relating to literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, and folklore. A growing number of citations can be accessed in full-text.
Oxford Latin American Economic History Database 1900-
A free, downloadable, on-line resource for reliable, consistent, and comparable economic and social data series from 1900-2000 for 20 countries in Latin America.
PAIS International 1970-
Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages.
Political Database of the Americas
Jointly produced by Georgetown University and the Organization of American States, this site provides a multitude of political data and information: constitutions, electoral data, local government documents, political party material, directories of government officials, and supporting reference materials.
Project MUSE 1996-
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades (Red ALyC)
Red ALyC is a database of full-text articles from Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities, serving as a "virtual hemeroteca" for the region. Areas covered include anthropology, economics, education, geography, history, political science, sociology, tourism, etc. Access is free and open.
SciELOBrasil 1998-
The Scientific Electronic Library Online--SciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals. Increasingly, Brazilian social science journals and articles are being included in the database. A majority of the articles are in Portuguese, usually with English abstracts.
SciELOChile 2001-
SciELO Chile features articles published in Chilean scientific journals.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text articles from tens of thousands of periodicals, including: business and medical periodicals; international, national and college newspapers; law reviews; state and federal case law; and statutory law. Date ranges vary for individual publications. To access Latin American materials, click on "Central & South American News" under "International News." For Spanish, Portuguese, or French, click on "Foreign Language Sources." Individual publications (such as "O Globo" or "El Universal") can also be searched.
WorldCat
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries and a growing number of international libraries. material not locally owned can often be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. Coverage includes books, journal titles, visual and recorded materials, manuscript collections, etc.