UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
May 16th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Research by Subject > Law Research GuidePrintable Version
Law Research Guide Contents
 

How to Find:
ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS BY SUBJECT


FEDERAL

Federal regulations are arranged by subject in the Code of Federal Regulations.  Before they are published in the Code of Federal Regulations, they are first published in the Federal Register.

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS 


Westlaw Campus Research
Click on the Law tab at the top of the page. Click either the Basic Search or Advanced Search tab and type in words that describe the topic of the regulations you are seeking. Under Select Database(s) and Statutes and Regulationsclick on the radio button next to Code of Federal Regulations and click the Search button. 

LexisNexis Academic 
Click on the Legal tab in the red band at top of page. Under Legal Searches, click on State and Federal Codes. Select CFR-Code of Federal Regulations from the drop-down menu. Enter words that describe the topic of the regulations you are seeking in the top box using either the "Terms and Connectors" or the "Natural Language" option. Use the drop-down menu and the other options to refine your search. Click Search. 

GPO Access
Click on Browse and/or Search under Database Features. In the Quick Search box, type in search terms that describe your topic.  Click Submit.

Code of Federal Regulations
(5th floor, KF70.A3 1949, Shelf number 3)
There is a singlei-volume subject index with this set.

FEDERAL REGISTER

Westlaw Campus Research
Click on the Law tab at the top of the page. Under Database(s) and Statutes and Regulations, click on the box next to  search, using either the Basic Search or Advanced Search search method, type in words that describe the topic of the regulation you are seeking. Under Select One or More Areas to Search and Statutes and Regulations click on the box next to Federal Register. Click the blue Search button.

LexisNexis Academic
Click on the Legal tab in the red band at top of page. Under Legal Searches, click on State and Federal Codes. Select FR-Rederal Register from the drop-down menu. Enter words that describe the topic of the regulations you are seeking in the top box using either the "Terms and Connectors" or the "Natural Language" option. Use the drop-down menu and the other options to refine your search. Click Search. 

GPO Access
Click on Retrieve an FR Page under Database Features. Select the appropriate Federal Register volume and in the Search box, type in search terms that describe your topic.  Click Submit.

STATE

State regulations are arranged by subject in the Code of Massachusetts Regulations.

CODE OF MASSACHUSETTS REGULATIONS

Westlaw Campus Research
Click on the Law tab at the top of the page. Click either the Basic Search or Advanced Search tab and type in words that describe the topic of the regulations you are seeking. Under Select Database(s) and Statutes and Regulationsclick on the radio button next to State Administrattive Codes and select Massachusetts from the drop down menu. Click the Search button.

Social Law Library
Under SLL Substantive Databases click on Code of Massachusetts Regulations.  In the Text box, type in words that describe the topic of the regulation you are seeking.

 

 

 

 


 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?