UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
October 7th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Native American Indian Studies Research GuidePrintable Version
Native American Indian Studies Research Guide Contents
 

Native American Indian Studies Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full text articles or article citations in Native American Indian Studies. Available on Library computers to all. Available off-campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted. Databases that anyone may search are identified with an asterisk (*).

Suggested Native American Indian Studies databases and periodical indexes.
(See the Database Locator for the Library's full database list.)

Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences.

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history.

Anthropology Plus
Citations to journal articles, books, and book chapters relating to archaeology, anthropology (biological and physical, social and cultural), and linguistics, published in most European languages.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Citations, abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journal articles in various disciplines.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life from pre-history to the present, with some coverage back to the sixteenth century.

Biography Resource Center
Brief biographies.

Contemporary Women's Issues
full text articles from periodicals relating to women and women's issues.

Digital Dissertations
Citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses completed at primarily American and Canadian colleges and universities since 1861. Includes full text of the first 24 pages of most recent (1997- ) dissertations and full text of recent UMass Amherst dissertations.

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
Full text and indexing to books, journal articles, and dissertations describing both prehistoric life and archaeological sites.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Full text and indexing to thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations.

ERIC
Citations and abstracts for education journal articles and reports.

Ethnic Newswatch
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of Native American Indian and other ethnic communities in the United States. Publications include: News From Indian Country, Akwesasne Notes, Indian Country Today, Pequot Times, and The Seminole Tribune, among many more.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes hundreds of scholarly journals. The full text of some articles is available, while only the citation and abstract are available for other articles.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index)
Citations to articles from journals in English, Spanish, and other languages, relating to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, and the United States-Mexico border region.

International Political Science Abstracts
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals.

JSTOR
Full text articles from core scholarly journals in the humanists, social sciences and sciences.

Linguistics Abstracts Online
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.

*National Archeological Database
Citations to approximately 240,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation. Also includes a variety of maps.

Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Social Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Citations, abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journal articles in various disciplines.

Social Science Abstracts
Citations to articles in over 520 English-language scholarly journals in the fields of anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban affairs. Indexing goes back to 1983 and abstracts start in 1994.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations and conference papers from sociology and related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology) journals.

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?