UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
October 13th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Psychology Research GuidePrintable Version
Psychology Research Guide Contents
 

Psychology Research Guide
Databases

Online databases and periodical indexes help you search for full-text articles or article citations in Psychology. Available on Library computers to all. Available off campus to UMass Amherst students, faculty, staff, and affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT username and password when prompted.

Suggested Psychology databases and periodical indexes. (See Research Databases for the Library's complete database list.)

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO
Comprehensive database of citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage is from 1887 to present.

PsycArticles
Contains more than 120,000 articles from 60 journals, including the 49 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Time period covered: 1894 to present.

PubMed | Vendor's Database Guide
Comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles. Time period covered: 1966 to present. Click here for public access version.

CogNet Library
A "searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials" relevant to the brain and cognitive sciences. 

Web of Science
Contains the 3 citation indexes to scholarly journals, searchable by topics, authors, etc., and also searchable by cited references. Social Sciences Citation Index includes psychology and psychiatry, and coverage is from 1956 to present. Science Citation Index includes neuroscience, pharmacology, psychiatry, medicine, and zoology, and coverage is from 1900 to present.

Other Databases

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Animal Behavior Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, significant papers, and field and laboratory research on animal behavior, including neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, and applied ethology. Time period covered: 1982 to present.

Dissertations and Theses | User's guide
Citations and abstracts of doctoral and some masters theses, mostly completed at colleges and universities of the United States and Canada. Includes full text of recent (1997-) UMass Amherst dissertations, and the first 24 pages of recent dissertations from other institutions. Time period covered: 1861 to present.

Google Scholar Beta
A search engine for locating scholarly material on the internet. Use within UMass’ IP range to access UMass online journal subscriptions.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS
Unique international coverage of social sciences journals, books and book chapters in over 100 languages, 1951-present.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Articles, with bibliographies, from experts on all aspects of the social sciences. Current.

JSTOR | User's guide
Full-text online collection of over 150 core scholarly journals from their first issue to between two and five years prior to the present.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Full-text information about and reviews of psychological and educational tests, 1916-present.

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
Citations to articles, books and papers on post traumatic stress syndromes and disorders. Time period covered: 1871 to present.

PrimateLit
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) on nonhuman primates. Time period covered: 1940 to present. Click here for public access version.

WorldCat | Vendor's Database Guide
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries. Material not owned by UMass Amherst can usually be borrowed through interlibrary loan.
 

 
 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?