UMass Amherst
site search
Libraries
October 7th 2008  |  Complete Hours
 
Ask A Librarian
phone
email
chat
IM
Library Catalog Databases My Library Accounts RefWorks E-Journals  
Quick Search Find How Do I Services Collection About Us  
UMass Libraries > Subject Research Guides > Public Policy and Administration Research GuidePrintable Version
Research Guide Navigation
 

Finding Databases & Periodical Indexes

Below you will find online databases and periodical indexes that aid you in searching for full-text articles or in locating citation information for articles on your public policy and administration topic. Please note: Many of our electronic resources have restricted access from off-campus and are only available to UMass-Amherst students, faculty or staff with an OIT account.

PUBLIC POLICY AND ADMINISTRATION

CQ Political Reference Suite
Online access to a number of Congressional Quarterly titles: Congress and the Nation Series , Historic Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World,  Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook Series, Washington Information Directory , and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

CQ Researcher
Well-documented full text overviews of current issues, including bibliographies, chronologies and other useful features. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Full-text working and position papers, books, and journals, from international affairs research institutes.

Congressional Research Service Reports
Congressional Research Services, the public policy research arm of the U. S. Congress, produces brief reports on current issues and their legal and legislative status.

Declassified Documents Reference Service
78,00 government documents declassified by the 1967 Freedom of Information Act.

Index to Current Urban Documents
A guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada.

International Political Science Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks worldwide.

International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Provides articles from scholarly journal and other periodicals, and from country reports, many of them in full text, on threats to peace.

PAIS International
Covers material in the social sciences. It includes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, Internet sites, statistical compilations, directories and reports of public and private organizations, 1915 to present.

Sage Journals Online (formerly known as Political Science: Sage Fulltext Collection
More than 485 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine, 1999-present.

Urban Studies & Planning: Sage Fulltext Collection
Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. 

LAW-RELATED

InstaTrac
The Instatrac database contains a large amount of information about the legislative process in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Among other things, it provides bill tracking, the full text of bills back to 2005, the transcripts of hearing, a legislative calendar, and contact information for state representatives and legislators.

LegalTrac
Citations to articles and a limited number of full text articles from law reviews and law-related journals.

Lexis-Nexis
Full text articles from tens of thousands of periodicals, including law reviews; state and federal case law; and statutory law. Date ranges vary for individual publications.

Westlaw Campus Research
Full text legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; federal and state statutes, regulations, court decisions; and newspapers, news wires, magazines and business and industry data.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Indexes hundreds of scholarly journals. The full text of some articles is available, while only the citation and abstract are available for other articles.

Social Science Citation Index
Citations to articles in political science, anthropology, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, social work, law, sociology, urban studies, and psychology among others.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Citations to articles in over 500 English-language scholarly journals in the fields of anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social

RELATED DISCIPLINES

Agricola
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition.

Business Source Premier
Covers about 8,000 magazines, trade journals and peer-reviewed periodicals, many in full text, some dating back as far as 1922, on all aspects of business. It also includes full-text country reports, industry reports, company profiles, and market research reports.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from ciminology journals, as well as books, and dissertations on criminology and related areas such as the justice system, the police, corrections, crime prevention, and victim's rights.

Econlit
Citations and abstracts for journal articles and some books relating to the field of economics.

Environment Index
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals.

ERIC: UMass Amherst Subscription
Citations and abstracts for education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references). Links to full text are provided for many recent Eric documents.

Health Reference Center Academic
Citations, some full text journal articles and health-related pamphlets, and entries from selected reference publications relating to health and allied health.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles from sociology and related (anthropology, education, medicine, social psychology) journals; includes references to U. S. and Canadian dissertations and conference papers.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics gathered by the Census Bureau from colonial times to near present. This is a scholarly edition, with introductory essays by experts, and a reworking and expansion of the data presented in earlier print editions.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.



If you have questions at any time, please ask a member of the reference staff. We are here to help you.

 

 

 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9275
(413) 545-0150  |  Comments?